Social Innovation Generation

Social Innovation Generation

Four partners – the Foundation, the PLAN Institute for Caring Citizenship (Vancouver), the MaRS Discovery District (Toronto) and the University of Waterloo (Kitchener-Waterloo) - collaborate in the Social Innovation Generation (SiG) initiative to develop, encourage and support continuous social innovation; their collective goal is to identify, test and share new approaches to addressing entrenched social challenges facing Canadians.

‘Innovation’ normally means doing things better, smarter, more efficiently. In business, it is a given; it receives constant encouragement in the form of training, investment and public attention. The not-for-profit or public benefit sector sees no such support: there are many social entrepreneurs but most funders seek ‘safe’ projects. There is little risk-capital and even less willingness to accept some ‘failure’ as the price of path-breaking innovation.

A corollary of taking informed risks is a commitment to learning. Evaluations are the preferred tool for learning from projects, but conventional approaches and understandings of evaluation weigh heavily toward rigid measures of accountability rather than true learning. As part of SiG, the Foundation is developing more user-focused approaches to evaluation, and we try to ensure that the principal beneficiaries of evaluation are grantees and stakeholders.

Strategic Vision

Through SiG, the Foundation envisions a more inclusive, sustainable and resilient Canada that engages in continuous innovation as a means of adapting to complex social challenges.

Granting Total

$10 million – Foundation contribution

Program History

SiG emerged from the Foundation’s experience over several years supporting the testing and building up of locally developed innovations through what we called ‘applied dissemination’.

From this evolved a body of practice, a ‘social innovation lab’ that identified other needs: in particular, a coherent theory to guide further progress and a wider suite of resources to complement the Foundation’s granting.

The establishment of a Chair in Social Innovation at the University of Waterloo, the appointment of Dr. Frances Westley to that position and the adoption of C.S.Holling’s ‘panarchy’ framework as a guiding model for the initiative have all advanced our understanding of innovation processes; collaboration with the MaRS Discovery District and PLAN Institute has encouraged involvement from the private, public and community sectors in testing approaches to creating lasting change from local to system levels.

Key Lessons

  • ‘Scaling’ innovations is not about growing programs or organizations, but about increasing their impact in ways that are appropriate to different contexts.
  • Even successful projects can rarely be ‘duplicated’; what is required is a deep knowledge of what works - and why - so that the essence can be preserved while allowing for flexibility and adaptation to different circumstances.
  • The notion of ‘best practices’ or templates for success stifles innovation. ‘Next practice’ better describes an approach based on continuous observation and adaptation.
  • Conventional evaluation methods, which test outcomes against set objectives, can stifle innovation, which requires risk, experimentation, freedom to fail and the chance to learn from failure and the unexpected.
  • The Foundation participated in the creation of Developmental Evaluation: balancing creative and critical thinking in guiding and assessing innovation.
  • While the term ‘social innovation’ has spread quickly, along with notions of complex adaptive systems and related concepts, it is not clear that its use is leading to or associated with transformational change.
  • The Foundation has learned that collaboration across sectors requires concerted effort to overcome differing organizational norms and values. It requires a commitment to social learning that includes the ability to adapt one’s own viewpoints and practices.
The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Génération de l'innovation sociale

Génération de l'innovation sociale

Quatre partenaires – la fondation, ainsi que l’Université de Waterloo, le MaRS Discovery District (Toronto) et le PLAN Institute (Vancouver) – collaborent au programme Génération de l’innovation sociale (SiG) pour développer, encourager et soutenir l’innovation sociale continue. Leur objectif est de découvrir, de tester et de partager de nouvelles façons de s’attaquer aux enjeux sociaux auxquels font face les Canadiens.

« Innovation » signifie généralement faire mieux, de manière plus avisée et plus efficace. En affaires, cela va de soi; l’innovation est constamment encouragée par la formation, des investissements et l’intérêt du public. Le secteur sans but lucratif ou bénévole n’obtient pas un tel appui : il existe un grand nombre d’entrepreneurs sociaux mais la plupart des organismes subventionnaires cherchent des projets « sûrs ». Il y a peu de capital risque et encore moins de volonté d’accepter un certain niveau d’« échec » comme prix d’une innovation porteuse.

La volonté d’apprendre est un corollaire à la prise de risques éclairée. Les évaluations sont l’outil privilégié pour tirer des enseignements des projets, mais les approches classiques et le savoir qui en découle favorisent nettement un mécanisme rigide de reddition de compte plutôt qu’un véritable apprentissage. Comme partenaire de SiG, la fondation conçoit, pour l’évaluation, des approches davantage axées sur l’utilisateur et essaie de s’assurer que les organismes subventionnés et les parties prenantes sont les principaux bénéficiaires de l’évaluation.

Vision stratégique

SiG reflète la vision d'un Canada plus inclusif, plus viable et plus résilient qui embrasse l'innovation continue pour s'adapter à des difficultés sociales complexes.

Financement total

10 000 000 $ – contribution de la fondation

Historique du programme

SiG est issu de l’expérience acquise en plusieurs années par la fondation en soutenant l’essai et la diffusion d’innovations locales dans le cadre de ce qu’elle a appelé « diffusion-application ».

Cette initiative a donné naissance à une communauté de pratique, un « laboratoire d’innovation sociale », qui a révélé d’autres besoins, en particulier une théorie cohérente pour guider les progrès futurs et un plus vaste ensemble de ressources pour compléter le financement de la fondation.

Grâce à la création de la Chaire de l’innovation sociale à l’Université de Waterloo, à la nomination de Frances Westley, Ph.D., au poste de titulaire et à l’adoption, comme cadre conceptuel, de la « panarchie » de Buzz Holling pour guider l’initiative, nous avons mieux compris les processus d’innovation. La collaboration avec le MaRS Discovery District et le PLAN Institute a encouragé la participation des secteurs privé, public et communautaire à l’essai d’approches visant à provoquer un changement durable, du niveau local à celui des systèmes.

Leçons clés

  • La mise à l'échelle de l'innovation ne vise pas la croissance des programmes ou des organismes, mais bien l'accroissement de leur impact de façon appropriée au contexte.
  • On peut rarement répéter un projet, même s'il est réussi; il faut plutôt saisir profondément ce qui fonctionne et pourquoi cela fonctionne afin de préserver l'essence du projet tout en conservant la flexibilité requise pour l'adapter à un contexte différent.
  • Le concept de « pratiques exemplaires » ou de modèles à succès étouffe l'innovation. Celui de « pratique suivante » traduit mieux l'approche fondée sur l'observation et l'adaptation continues.
  • Les méthodes d'évaluation classiques, qui comparent les résultats aux objectifs établis, peuvent étouffer l'innovation; celle-ci exige le risque, l'expérimentation, le droit à l'erreur et la possibilité d'apprendre de l'échec et de l'imprévu.
  • La fondation a participé à la création de l'évaluation évolutive : équilibrer pensée créative et pensée critique pour guider l'innovation et l'évaluer.
  • Même si le terme « innovation sociale » s'est vite répandu, avec les systèmes adaptés complexes et autres concepts afférents, il n'est pas clair que son utilisation mène au changement transformateur ou y est associée.
  • La fondation a appris que la collaboration entre secteurs exige des efforts concertés pour surmonter les divergences de normes et de valeurs organisationnelles. Cela exige un engagement envers l'apprentissage social, y compris la capacité d'adapter ses propres points de vue et pratiques.
La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank