History

The Seed of an Idea to Support Communities

The McConnell Foundation, established in 1937, was the second family foundation created in Canada, following the Massey Foundation. It was run by the founder with the help of a secretary. The grants it made reflected long-standing interests and commitments of J.W. McConnell, including McGill University and its affiliated hospitals (notably the Montreal Neurological Institute), the YMCA, Salvation Army, Old Brewery Mission, the Victorian Order of Nurses and a number of churches and agencies ministering to Montrealers in need.

Some of the organizations that received support in 1937 continue to be recipients of Foundation grants to the present day. The Foundation provided space for what would become the Hochelaga-Maisonneuve and Pointe St. Charles YMCA facilities, and was a prime sponsor of the construction of Place-des-Arts. Granting was mainly in the Montreal region, the province of Quebec and the Maritimes (grants to Montreal-based recipients represented 85-90 percent of total grant amounts until the early 1980s).

After McConnell’s death in 1963, the family wished to continue his work and renamed the foundation The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, whose Board of Trustees would comprise direct descendants of the founder.

In its early years, grants were usually for capital campaigns, primarily university and hospital buildings and medical equipment. McConnell’s longstanding interest in supporting programs for young people was maintained through regular grants to the YMCA, the Boys’ and Girls’ Clubs and summer camps, but there were also major contributions to homes for the elderly.

By 1974, total grants made by the Foundation passed the $100 million mark. The Foundation was a mainstay for many important health, educational and cultural organizations and institutions in Montreal, but it had also innovated in funding new programs such as the pioneering Palliative Care Centre at the Royal Victoria Hospital.

National Perspective

In 1980, the Trustees decided to give the Foundation a broader, national focus. Many of the educational, health and social service organizations originally supported by the Foundation had ceased to be private bodies funded through a mix of membership fees and individual and church donations. The state had become the principal source of revenue for universities and health establishments.

The Foundation’s granting was refocused to address special needs and innovative projects aimed at making these organizations more productive, responsive, and efficient in their services to the community.

The most important commitment of the 1980s was the bold decision to commit some $40 million to renovating, extending and endowing the McCord Museum, which belonged to McGill University but functioned largely autonomously in inadequate facilities. This grant, the largest single commitment in the Foundation’s history, was seen very much as a gift to the people and city of Montreal to mark the 350th anniversary of the city's founding.

By the 1990s, the Foundation had a small professional staff and a new, proactive mission to help Canadians adapt to the profound economic, political and social changes beginning to affect Canada. National initiatives were launched to promote community economic development, to support innovation in higher education and to widen the impact of successful local innovations.

A number of Foundation initiatives were launched, including the Community Economic Development Technical Assistance Program (CEDTAP); the Green Street environmental stewardship program; and work with organizations addressing disability issues, including PLAN, Philia and Tetra, and respite support for caregivers. In September 1996, a new school-based funding program was launched to enhance learning by involving young people in hands-on artistic and creative activities; this was ArtsSmarts.

The Foundation’s granting focus had essentially moved from capital grants and institutional support to initiatives aimed at building up the capacity within organizations to improve their communities.

Larger and longer-term program grants became more common, with particular efforts made to strengthen the community sector by providing core funding to bodies like Community Foundations of Canada, IMAGINE, and Volunteer Canada. An innovative MBA-level program for leaders of national voluntary organizations was developed in partnership with McGill University. Another initiative sought to identify successful local initiatives that had the potential for far broader reach. Over the ensuing years, more than 20 such grants were made in fields as varied as early childhood (Roots of Empathy), impaired driving (Nez Rouge), disabilities support (PLAN), comprehensive community development (Vibrant Communities) and others.

Towards the Future

Family foundations balance tradition and change, evolving in response to external needs and challenges and internal family dynamics. For The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, a clear line can be drawn from the personal generosity and values rooted in the founder’s Methodist upbringing, which found expression in his tithing as a very young man, his later active fundraising for many causes and finally his major philanthropic legacy, the Foundation that bears his name.

Foundations can generate attention and action to tackle challenges that may otherwise be overlooked or inadequately addressed. The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation’s role now is to be a catalyst, to use its limited funds to leverage individual and community assets, resources and skills to effect needed change. Those challenges are constantly shifting; an effective foundation therefore is in permanent evolution toward the elusive goals of relevance and results.

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Histoire

À l’origine, le désir d’appuyer la collectivité

Établie en 1937, La fondation McConnell est la deuxième fondation familiale établie au Canada, après La fondation Massey. Son fondateur la dirige avec l’aide d’une secrétaire. Les subventions accordées reflètent les intérêts et les engagements de longue date de J.W. McConnell, notamment envers l’Université McGill et ses hôpitaux affiliés (dont l’Institut neurologique de Montréal), le YMCA, l’Armée du Salut, la Mission Old Brewery, les Infirmières de l’Ordre de Victoria et plusieurs églises et organismes qui aident les Montréalais dans le besoin.

Certains organismes reçoivent une subvention de la fondation depuis 1937. C’est la fondation qui a offert les terrains où seront érigés les centres YMCA d’Hochelaga-Maisonneuve et de Pointe-St-Charles, et elle fait partie des principaux donateurs pour la construction de la Place des Arts. Elle accorde des subventions surtout dans la région de Montréal, au Québec et dans les Maritimes (les subventions accordées à des organismes montréalais forment 85 à 90 % des sommes versées au début des années 1980).

Après la mort de McConnell en 1963, la famille veut poursuivre son œuvre. La fondation devient La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell et son conseil d’administration réunit des descendants directs du fondateur.

Au cours des premières années, les subventions servent surtout à des campagnes de mobilisation des fonds, notamment pour la construction de pavillons universitaires et hospitaliers et l’achat d’équipement médical. L’intérêt pour la jeunesse manifesté toute sa vie par McConnell se traduit par des subventions régulières au YMCA, aux Clubs de garçons et filles et aux camps d’été, mais la fondation verse aussi des fonds substantiels à des foyers pour personnes âgées.

En 1974, la fondation avait versé plus de 100 millions $ en subventions. Elle est le principal donateur de plusieurs organismes et institutions d’importance dans le domaine de la santé, l’éducation et la culture à Montréal, en plus d’appuyer des programmes d’avant-garde tels que le centre de soins palliatifs de l’Hôpital Royal Victoria.

Une perspective nationale

En 1980, le conseil d’administration décide d’élargir le champ d’action de la fondation en adoptant une perspective nationale. Plusieurs des organismes d’éducation, de santé et de services sociaux appuyés à l’origine par la fondation ne sont plus des appareils privés subventionnés par les cotisations et les dons d’églises ou de particuliers. L’État est devenu la principale source de revenus des universités et des établissements de santé.

Les fonds sont donc redirigés vers les besoins particuliers et les projets novateurs pour permettre à ces organismes d’offrir des services à la collectivité de façon plus efficace, plus productive et plus adaptée aux besoins.

Le geste le plus notable des années 1980 est sans doute la décision audacieuse de consacrer quelque 40 millions $ à la rénovation, l’agrandissement et la dotation du Musée McCord, qui appartient à l’Université McGill, mais fonctionne de façon quasi autonome dans des locaux inadéquats. Cette subvention, la plus importante jamais versée par la fondation, se veut un cadeau à la population et à la ville de Montréal.

Dans les années 1990, la fondation se dote d’une petite équipe de professionnels et adopte une nouvelle mission proactive : aider les Canadiens à s’adapter aux profonds changements qui commencent à toucher le Canada sur le plan économique, social et politique. Elle met sur pied des projets d’envergure nationale afin de promouvoir le développement économique communautaire, appuyer l’innovation dans l’enseignement supérieur et diffuser les modèles de projets novateurs à succès.

La fondation lance plusieurs programmes, dont le Programme d’assistance technique au développement économique communautaire (PATDEC) et le programme de défense de l’environnement, Ma rue verte. Elle collabore avec des organismes oeuvrant auprès des personnes handicapées, dont PLAN, Philia et Tetra, et offrant des services de répit aux proches aidants. En septembre 1996, la fondation met sur pied un nouveau programme de financement, GénieArts, en vue de favoriser l’apprentissage par la participation à des activités artistiques et créatives en milieu scolaire.

La fondation opère ainsi un virage, passant de la subvention d’équipement et de l’aide financière au financement de projets visant à renforcer la capacité d’organismes régionaux d’améliorer la vie de la collectivité.

La fondation finance de plus en plus de projets d’envergure et à plus long terme, dans le but notamment de renforcer le secteur communautaire en appuyant des organismes tels que Fondations communautaires du Canada, IMAGINE, et Bénévoles Canada. En partenariat avec l’Université McGill, la fondation met au point un programme de MBA destiné aux dirigeants d’organismes bénévoles nationaux. Un autre projet vise à déceler les projets locaux susceptibles d’élargir leur portée. Au cours des années suivantes, la fondation en appuie financièrement plus d’une vingtaine, dans des secteurs aussi variés que la petite enfance (Racines de l’empathie), la lutte contre la conduite avec les facultés affaiblies (Nez Rouge), le soutien aux personnes handicapées (PLAN) et le développement communautaire intégré (Communautés dynamiques).

Vers l’avenir

Les fondations familiales naviguent entre tradition et changement, selon les besoins et les difficultés du monde externe, et la dynamique interne de la famille. La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell est restée fidèle à la générosité et aux valeurs issues de l’éducation méthodiste du fondateur – qu’il exprima en payant la dîme dès son tout jeune âge, en recueillant plus tard des fonds au profit de nombreuses causes et enfin, en créant son principal legs philanthropique, la fondation qui porte maintenant son nom.

C’est le propre des fondations de mobiliser l’action et l’attention pour relever des défis qui risquent autrement de passer inaperçus ou ne pas être traités de façon adéquate. Aujourd’hui, le rôle de la fondation est de servir de catalyseur, d’utiliser ses fonds limités pour faire fructifier les atouts, les ressources et les compétences des personnes et des collectivités afin de réaliser les changements qui s’imposent. Les défis évoluent sans cesse; pour être efficace, une fondation doit donc sans cesse évoluer vers l’atteinte d’objectifs aussi insaisissables que la pertinence et la réalisation des résultats.

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank