Social Finance

View ArchivesSpotlight: Social Finance

In December 2011, one year following the release of the Canadian Task Force on Social Finance‘s landmark report, Mobilizing Private Capital for Public Good, nearly four hundred people came together in Toronto to celebrate the launch of the MaRS Centre for Impact Investing and to take part in the 2011 Social Finance Forum: Investing in Good Deals.

The MaRS Centre for Impact Investing – jointly funded by the Rockefeller Foundation, the McConnell Foundation and TMX Group Inc., – is a national hub designed to increase the awareness and effectiveness of social finance to catalyze new capital, talent and initiatives dedicated to tackling social and environmental problems in Canada. The Centre builds on the foundational work of MaRS and Social Innovation Generation (SiG), including the landmark report by the Canadian Task Force on Social Finance.

The forum and launch of the Centre also coincided with the Task Force’s release of Mobilizing Private Capital for Public Good – Measuring Progress During Year One, a progress report highlighting some of the developments relevant to the recommendations of the Task Force over the past year.

As Ilse Truernicht states in her introduction to the report, “There has never been a better time to reconsider the role of capital markets in creating sustainable value for our society.” We invite you learn more about social finance, the Task Force on Social Finance, and the Foundation's place in the discussion.

 
 

Spotlight Highlights

Video

September 2010

The Case for Social Finance in Canada

by MaRS Discovery District

Tim Draimin, Executive Director of Social Innovation Generation (SiG), introduces us to the world of social finance. Enabling the social finance marketplace is key to tackling Canada's social and environmental challenges—both through entrepreneurship and a more flexible national policy framework.

Video

December 2, 2010

Global congratulations for the Canadian Task Force on Social Finance

On November 30, 2010 the Canadian Task Force on Social Finance released their report and recommendations for the growth of the impact investment marketplace in Canada. Pioneers in impact investing and social innovators alike from around the world offered these words of encouragement and congratulations.

Article

December 2010

CEGN interview with Tim Brodhead following the release of "Mobilizing Private Capital for Public Good"

by CEGN Issues & Updates

The Canadian Environmental Grantmakers' Network (CEGN) interview with Tim Brodhead, as appearing in their December 2010 CEGN Issues & Updates Newsletter. In the interview, Tim speaks about Task Force on Social Finance's report, Mobilizing Private Capital for Public Good and how funders can adopt its recommendations.

Article

December 2010

Tyze

Learn more about the The Belonging Fund, a social finance strategy of Tyze and the Foundation’s.

View Archives

See the Foundation's past Spotlight sections.

read more
 

Resources

Visit our Resources section to access our latest reports and publications.

 
The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Finance sociale

Voir les archivesEn vedette: Finance sociale

En décembre 2011, un an après la publication du rapport marquant du Groupe d’étude canadien sur la finance sociale intitulé La mobilisation de capitaux privés pour le bien collectif, près de quatre cents personnes se sont réunies à Toronto pour célébrer le lancement du MaRS Centre for Impact Investing et participer au 2011 Social Finance Forum: Investing in Good Deals.

Le MaRS Centre for Impact Investing, que financent conjointement la fondation Rockefeller, la fondation McConnell et le Groupe TMX inc., est un carrefour national qui accroîtra la sensibilisation à la finance sociale et à sa capacité de catalyser de nouveaux capitaux, des talents et des initiatives en vue de trouver des solutions aux problèmes sociaux et environnementaux du Canada. Il prend appui sur le travail de fond accompli par MaRS et de Génération de l’innovation sociale (SiG), notamment sur le rapport produit par le Groupe d’étude canadien sur la finance sociale.

Le forum et le lancement du Centre coïncidaient aussi avec la publication, par le Groupe d’étude, de Mobilizing Private Capital for Public Good – Measuring Progress During Year One, rapport d’étape qui met en lumière certains des développements découlant des recommandations du Groupe d’étude au cours de la dernière année.

Comme le souligne Ilse Truernicht dans l’introduction au rapport, « Le moment n’a jamais été aussi opportun de repenser le rôle des marchés financiers dans la création d’une valeur durable pour notre société ». Nous vous invitons à en apprendre davantage sur la finance sociale, sur le Groupe d’étude sur la finance sociale et sur le rôle de la fondation dans la discussion.

 
 

En vedette : points saillants

Vidéo

septembre 2010

The Case for Social Finance in Canada

par MaRS Discovery District

Tim Draimin, directeur général de Génération de l’innovation sociale (SiG), nous initie au monde de la finance sociale. Créer un marché de la finance sociale est crucial pour pouvoir s’attaquer aux enjeux sociaux et environnementaux du Canada – à la fois par l’entrepreneuriat et par une politique nationale plus souple.

Vidéo

2 décembre, 2010

Félicitations mondiales pour la Task Force on Social Finance

Le 30 novembre 2010, la Task Force on Social Finance a publié un rapport contenant des recommandations en vue de favoriser la croissance du marché de l’investissement porteur d’impact au Canada. Des pionniers de ce type d’investissement et des innovateurs sociaux de tous les coins de la planète ont offert des mots d’encouragement et leurs félicitations. En anglais seulement.

Article

Décembre 2010

Interview de Tim Brodhead par le RCSE suivant la publication de « Mobilizing Private Capital... »

par CEGN Issues & Updates

Interview de Tim Brodhead par Le Réseau canadien des subventionneurs en environnement (RCSE) publiée dans le numéro de décembre 2010 du bulletin Enjeux et nouvelles du RCSE. À cette occasion, Tim aborde le rapport de la Task Force on Social Finance, Mobilizing Private Capital for Public Good et les différentes manières dont les organismes subventionnaires peuvent mettre en œuvre les recommandations. En anglais seulement.

Article

décembre 2010

Tyze

Renseignez-vous sur le Belonging Fund, une stratégie de finance sociale mise au point par Tyze et la fondation.

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank