Publications

Publications

Sort By: Title | Date

October 2016

Conference poster: Advancing wellbeing as a priority for schools

by WellAhead

In its first year in BC, WellAhead worked with six pilot school districts to see if a set of core values, a participatory change process and a focus on everyday practices could deepen schools’ commitment to wellbeing. After reflecting on their learnings, WellAhead has made some significant shifts in its strategy towards the integration of wellbeing in Canadian schools. One key lesson? WellAhead may be able to achieve more impact by working at a network level, instead of directly with school districts.

Tags: Child and Youth Wellbeing

May 2016

Impact Investing Due Diligence Guide, Part 1

by Sophie Méchin, Solutions Finance Officer and Erica Barbosa Vargas, Director of Solutions Finance

This guide is based on the Foundation’s internal due-diligence process and it offers a framework to assess impact and financial risk and return of potential investment opportunities. The expected added value is in how to incorporate impact and strategic fit dimensions when assessing investment opportunities with an impact investor lens. It should be noted that the shared list of questions is not exhaustive and readers should refer to other manuals for more comprehensive financial due-diligence and analysis of different asset classes. It can be considered a work in progress as the market continues to evolve and we continue to learn about new developments in impact investing

Tags: Social Finance

May 2016

Solutions Finance Series, Issue #1: Beyond Impact Investing, Towards Solutions Finance

by Erica Barbosa Vargas, Director of Solutions Finance

Successful systems innovation requires adequate resourcing and calls for new forms of capital allocation across the multiple stages of design and implementation. In many cases, systems innovation models mature from needing philanthropic dollars to developing solid business models that would allow them to partner with large mainstream investors. However, as we know, market and social system inefficiencies continue to prevent taking innovative models to scale to fulfill their full potential. This is why the Foundation is shifting its focus to Solutions Finance, an integrated approach to deploying financial capital and adapting financial models to catalyze, sustain and scale systems transformation.

Tags: Social Finance

12-14-2015

Inaugural Indigenous Innovation Summit November 18 - 20, 2015, Winnipeg, Manitoba, CANADA

by Allyson Hewitt

Led by the National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC) in partnership with the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, a group of about 300 Indigenous and non-Indigenous social innovators gathered in Winnipeg, Manitoba for the Inaugural Indigenous Innovation Summit.

Tags: Indigenous-Focused Philanthropy

December 12, 2013

Good Sport

by Silver Donald Cameron

Good Sport was written by award-winning author Silver Donald Cameron, and includes a foreword by Governor-General David Johnston. It is a compilation of stories that reflect the diversity of projects that took place in the Sport for Development initiative, from the participants’ perspectives.

Tags: Sport for Development

November 27, 2013

Leading Together: Indigenous Youth in Community Partnership

A collection of stories highlighting promising approaches in partnerships between non-profit organizations and indigenous youth.

Tags: Indigenous-Focused Philanthropy

July 2012

Technology-Enabled Social Innovation: Selected Articles from the Technology Innovation Management Review

Highlights the promise and potential of technology-enabled social innovation and features contributions from some of Canada's leading social innovators and entrepreneurs.

Tags: Stephen Huddart, Social Innovation Generation, Social Finance

November, 2011

Cities Reducing Poverty (Introduction)

by Mark Cabaj, Editor

Cities Reducing Poverty: How Vibrant Communities Are Creating Comprehensive Solutions to the Most Complex Problem of Our Times, is composed of stories and a unique analysis that together show in detail how collaborative groups in six Canadian cities are reducing poverty. These groups are achieving remarkable results because they're using creative, comprehensive approaches based on real, on-the-ground knowledge of - and experience of - the complex nature of poverty.

Tags: Vibrant Communities

September 2011

Reflections on Philanthropy and Society: The Speeches of Tim Brodhead

by Tim Brodhead

A selection of speeches from past Foundation President Tim Brodhead, covering topics ranging from the environment to the economy, and from social inclusion to social innovation.

Tags: Tim Brodhead

<< previous | 1 | 2
The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Québec H3A 3L6

EN
Publications

Publications

Trier par: Titre | Date

mai 2016

Guide sur la revue diligente d'investissements d'impact, partie 1

par Sophie Méchin, Agente, finance des solutions et Erica Barbosa Vargas, Directrice, finance des solutions

Ce guide est fondé sur le processus interne de diligence raisonnable de la fondation ; il offre un cadre d’analyse pour évaluer le profil de risque-rendement en matière d’impact et en termes financier relativement à des propositions d’investissement. La valeur ajoutée qu’il devrait apporter tient à la façon d’intégrer les dimensions d’impact et de l’alignement stratégique dans l’évaluation des propositions d’investissement, du point de vue de l’investisseur d’impact. Il convient de souligner que la liste de questions proposées n’est pas exhaustive ; le lecteur devrait consulter d’autres ouvrages pour une description plus détaillée de la diligence raisonnable en matière financière et pour une analyse approfondie des différentes catégories d’actifs. Le guide peut être considéré comme un ouvrage en cours, puisque le marché continue d’évoluer et que nous continuons d’être informés de nouveaux développements dans le domaine de l’investissement d’impact.

Tags: Finance sociale

mai 2016

Finance des solutions, Livre Blanc No.1: Aller au delà de l'investissement d'impact, vers une finance des solutions

par Erica Barbosa Vargas, Directrice - Finance des Solutions

Il faut deux choses pour des systèmes novateurs efficaces : l’accès aux ressources adéquates et de nouveaux moyens d’attribuer du capital durant les nombreuses étapes de conception et de mise en oeuvre. Dans bien des cas, les modèles d’innovation ont au départ besoin d’un investissement philanthropique, mais ils deviennent ensuite de solides modèles d’affaire capables d’attirer des investisseurs investisseurs classiques. Cependant, comme nous le savons, certaines inefficacités du marché et des systèmes sociaux continuent d’empêcher les modèles d’innovation de se développer selon leur plein potentiel. C’est la raison pour laquelle la Fondation a décidé de faire de la finance des solutions sa priorité. Celle-ci renvoie à une approche intégrée qui implique l’utilisation de capital financier et l’adaptation de modèles financiers pour catalyser, soutenir et accroître la transformation des systèmes.

Tags: Finance sociale

12-14-2015

Sommet inaugural de l’innovation autochtone 18-20 novembre 2015, Winnipeg, Manitoba, CANADA

par Allyson Hewitt, attachée supérieure de recherche La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell

Sous la direction de l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA), en partenariat avec La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell, un groupe d’environ 300 innovateurs sociaux autochtones et non autochtones s’est réuni à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, à l’occasion du sommet inaugural de l’innovation autochtone.

Tags: Philanthropie Destinée aux Autochtones

12 décembre, 2013

Franc-jeu

par Silver Donald Cameron

Franc-jeu a été écrit par l’auteur primé Silver Donald Cameron, avec une préface du gouverneur général du Canada, David Johnston. C’est une compilation d’articles qui reflètent la diversité des projets réalisés dans le cadre de Sport et développement, du point de vue des participants.

Tags: Sport et développement

27 novembre, 2013

Diriger Ensemble : jeunes autochtones dans des partenariats communautaires

Cette publication met en lumière des approches prometteuses en matière de partenariat entre les organismes sans but lucratif et la jeunesse autochtone.

Tags: Philanthropie Destinée aux Autochtones

juillet 2012

Technology-Enabled Social Innovation: Selected Articles from the Technology Innovation Management Review

Met en évidence la promesse et le potentiel de l’innovation sociale facilitée par la technologie et compte parmi ses collaborateurs certains des principaux innovateurs et entrepreneurs sociaux du Canada.

Tags: Stephen Huddart, Génération de l'innovation sociale, Finance sociale

novembre, 2011

Cities Reducing Poverty (Introduction)

par Mark Cabaj

Cities Reducing Poverty: How Vibrant Communities Are Creating Comprehensive Solutions to the Most Complex Problem of Our Times, contient des histoires et une analyse unique en son genre qui, ensemble, montrent comment des groupes de collaborateurs dans six villes canadiennes réussissent à réduire la pauvreté. Ils obtiennent des résultats remarquables en utilisant des approches créatives et globales fondées sur une connaissance réelle, pratique, et sur leur expérience de la nature complexe de la pauvreté.

Tags: Collectivités dynamiques

septembre 2011

Réflexions sur la philanthropie et la société : discours de Tim Brodhead

par Tim Brodhead

Sélection de discours de Tim Brodhead, président-directeur général sortant de la fondation, sur des sujets allant de l'environnement à l'économie et de l'inclusion sociale à l'innovation sociale.

Tags: Tim Brodhead

Octobre 2010

Acquérir la sagesse : Le pouvoir transformateur de l’apprentissage par le service communautaire

par Silver Donald Cameron

Dialogue exploratoire sur l’apprentissage par le service communautaire, de même que sur ses effets sur les systèmes d’éducation et les communautés.

Tags: Inclusion, Engagement des jeunes, Apprentissage par le service communautaire

<< précédent | 1 | 2
La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6