Vibrant Communities

Vibrant Communities—Cities Reducing Poverty


Poverty is a complex issue. There is no single cause and no one solution. Its successful reduction, ideally its eradication, require a set of linked interventions undertaken by all orders of government working in collaboration with communities.~Sherri Torjman, Caledon Institute of Social Policy

Vibrant Communities—Cities Reducing Poverty is a pan-Canadian poverty reduction initiative of the Tamarack Institute for Community Engagement, in partnership with the Caledon Institute of Social Policy and the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation. Building on the experience of the first phase (2003-2011), Cities Reducing Poverty launched in Spring 2011 with plans to engage 100 Canadian cities by the year 2016.

Participating cities undertake locally-designed initiatives led and implemented by groups comprising municipal leaders, businesspeople, community organizations, and people living in poverty. Each community sets its own priorities, but they all contain components that build individual, family, and community assets, multi-stakeholder collaboration, and strategies to learn and share knowledge of what works.

Linking these local initiatives together is a network providing support and learning—made available by Tamarack—through inter-active web sites, pod casts, webinars, downloadable tools, and in-person educational events, such as the annual Communities Collaborating Institute.

Serving as the social policy think tank behind Vibrant Communities, the Caledon Institute of Social Policy has created awareness of policy implications and been critical to surfacing, documenting, and sharing learnings.

Collective Impact Results

Since 2002, Vibrant Communities Canada and its partners have been changing how poverty is impacting cities. From St. John’s, Newfoundland to Victoria, BC there is a growing understanding that poverty is a complex issue that needs everyone in the community to become engaged. These communities have learned new ways of working together, have built on the assets that already exist in community and have dramatically improved the lives of Canadians living in poverty.

In Quebec

Inspired by the annual Communities Collaborating Institute in the Fall of 2010, 4 members—from Centraide du Grand Montréal,  Vivre St-Michel en Santé and the McConnell Foundation—participated in a training session called Leading Together in Chaotic Times. Wanting to share their learnings and new approaches highlighted during the session with Quebec stakeholders,  in November 2011 Dynamo—Ressource en mobilisation des collectivités, Centraide du Grand Montréal, Vivre St-Michel en Santé and the McConnell Foundation brought together 150 engaged stakeholders for the learning event Jongler avec la complexité. Click here for event resources. 

In 2011, the Foundation provided a three-year grant to the Réseau québécois de revitalisation intégrée (RQRI)—established in 2008 by the two Quebec Vibrant Communities sites, Démarche des premiers quartiers de Trois-Rivières and Vivre Saint-Michel en Santé, in Montreal—to support the expansion of the RQRI network in Quebec. 

Granting Total

$7,285,000

Key Lessons

In addition to quantitative results, the evaluation of Vibrant Communities examined the factors contributing to the effectiveness of local initiatives. A wide range of factors were determined to be relevant for shaping such efforts. 

Using a comprehensive, multi-sector approach, communities can:

  • Raise the profile of poverty
  • Build a constituency for change
  • Encourage collaborative ways of working
  • Begin to shift systems underlying poverty
  • Generate changes for a large number of people living in poverty

Critical Success Factors include:

  • Influential and credible convener(s)
  • Cross-sector, connected leadership table
  • Challenging community aspiration
  • Clearly articulated purpose and approach
  • High degree of resident mobilization
  • Research which informs the work

To learn more about Vibrant Communities-Cities Reducing Poverty, visit www.vibrantcommunities.ca

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Collectivités dynamiques

Collectivités dynamiques : Cities Reducing Poverty


La pauvreté est un problème complexe. Les causes en sont multiples et il n’y a pas de solution unique. Réussir à la réduire, idéalement à l’éradiquer, exige un ensemble d’interventions communes de tous les ordres de gouvernement travaillant en collaboration avec les communautés. ~Sherri Torjman, Caledon Institute of Social Policy

Collectivités dynamiques (CD)—Cities Reducing Poverty est une initiative pancanadienne du Tamarack Institute for Community Engagement, en partenariat avec le Caledon Institute of Social Policy et La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell en vue de réduire la pauvreté. Entre 2003 et 2011, quelque 13 communautés de partout au Canada ont participé au programme CD. Lancée en 2011, l’initiative Cities Reducing Poverty compte mobiliser 100 villes canadiennes d’ici 2016.

Les villes participantes entreprennent des projets conçus localement que gèrent et réalisent des groupes formés de dirigeants municipaux, de gens d’affaires, d’organismes communautaires et de personnes vivant dans la pauvreté. Chaque collectivité a ses propres priorités, mais celles-ci comportent toutes des éléments qui renforcent les atouts des personnes, des familles et des communautés ainsi que la collaboration multilatérale, et qui favorisent des stratégies propices à l’apprentissage et au partage des interventions efficaces.

Ces initiatives locales sont liées entre elles dans le cadre d’une plus vaste communauté d’apprentissage qui, collectivement, tire des enseignements des activités de lutte contre la pauvreté et y participe. Ces enseignements sont partagés par Tamarack au moyen de sites web interactifs, de balados, de webinaires, d’outils téléchargeables et d’événements éducatifs tels que le Communities Collaborating Institute tenu chaque année.

Agissant comme groupe de réflexion sur la politique sociale derrière Collectivités dynamiques, le Caledon Institute of Social Policy est à l’origine d’une prise de conscience des incidences sur les politiques et a joué un rôle déterminant en tirant, en documentant et en partageant des enseignements.

Impact collectif

Depuis 2002, Collectivités dynamiques Canada et ses partenaires s’emploient à modifier l’impact de la pauvreté sur les villes. De St. John’s (T.-N) à Victoria (C.-B.), on comprend de mieux en mieux que la pauvreté est une question complexe exigeant l’engagement de chacun des membres de la communauté. Ces collectivités ont découvert de nouveaux moyens de travailler ensemble, ont misé sur les atouts déjà présents dans leur cadre et ont considérablement amélioré l’existence des Canadiens vivant dans la pauvreté.

Au Québec

Inspiré par la réunion annuelle de Communities Collaborating Institute à l’automne 2010—quatre personnes provenant de Centraide du Grand Montréal, de Vivre St-Michel en Santé et de la Fondation McConnell, ont participés à une formation nommé « Leading Together in Chaotic Times ». Emballées par les apprentissages et l’approche de cette formation, ils reviennent au Québec avec l’intention de partager cette expérience auprès d’acteurs en mobilisation des collectivités.

En novembre 2011, l’évènement Jongler avec la complexité— une activité d’apprentissage qui a été coordonnée par Dynamo—Ressource en mobilisation des collectivités et ses partenaires : Centraide du Grand Montréal, Vivre St-Michel en Santé et la Fondation McConnell— a rassemblé, sous la forme d’une grande communauté d’apprentissage, 150 acteurs engagés dans les mobilisations locales. Pour les ressources de l’évènement.

En 2011, la Fondation a accordé une subvention de trois ans au Réseau québécois de revitalisation intégrée (RQRI)—créé en 2008 par les deux Collectivités dynamiques du Québec, soit Démarche des premiers quartiers de Trois-Rivières et Vivre Saint-Michel en Santé, à Montréal—pour soutenir l’expansion du RQRI au Québec.

Financement total

$7,285,000

Leçons clés

Outre les résultats quantitatifs, l’évaluation de CD a porté sur les facteurs qui contribuent à l’efficacité des initiatives locales. Une vaste diversité de facteurs ont été jugés pertinents.

En adoptant une approche multisectorielle globale, les communautés peuvent :

  • Faire mieux connaître la pauvreté
  • Créer un mouvement pour le changement
  • Encourager le travail en collaboration
  • Commencer à changer les systèmes sous-jacents à la pauvreté
  • Provoquer des changements pour un grand nombre de personnes défavorisées

Les facteurs de réussite critiques sont les suivants :

  • Responsable(s) ayant de l’influence et de la crédibilité
  • Forum du leadership, intersectoriel et informé
  • Aspiration communautaire stimulante
  • Objectif et approche clairement définis
  • Forte motivation des résidants
  • Recherche qui éclaire le travail

Pour en savoir plus sur Collectivités dynamiques, visitez www.vibrantcommunities.ca

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank