Green Street

Green Street

Green Street is a national program encouraging young peoples’ active participation in creating a sustainable future. Working in collaboration with their schools and communities, Green Street supports students in not only learning about the world in which they live, but also in looking after the world they are inheriting. Students are supported in actively participating in meaningful projects over time.

Strategic Vision

The Foundation envisions a more robust, sustainable society, built in part by school-based support, encouraging young people to act in the present with other members of their communities in creating a more equitable and responsible future for Canada.

Granting Total

$10 million

Program History

The Foundation launched Green Street in 1999 with the goal of encouraging active participation by young people in environmental stewardship. Its strategy centered on supporting voluntary sector organizations in offering to schools quality programs that responded to both student interest and teacher need.

While the program goals and core values remain the same, the strategy has evolved considerably. Green Street has gone from trying to ‘fill gaps’ (such as a lack of environmental education in schools) to trying to ‘open up spaces’ where relationships can be forged and creative initiatives can emerge in support of education for sustainability. Since its inception, Green Street has offered an online platform for students and teachers to access a variety of quality-controlled programs offered by environmental organizations. The site has now expanded to facilitate connections among multiple actors and resources in support of local innovation and the emergence of a national movement.

For more details, please see Making the Path as We Walk It: Changing Context and Strategy on Green Street.

Key Lessons

  • Young people learn when they engage in a learning process. Engaged learning builds on students’ passions and inspires their hope for the future. Engagement is facilitated by opportunities to act, to form relationships (with other people and with place), and to understand “big ideas” (meaningful and integrated content). School-community action projects provide ideal vehicles for this sort of engagement.
  • Engaged teachers are the key contributors to engaged education and therefore supporting teacher engagement is essential. (In the early stages of this program, an attempt was made to target students via television and the Internet. It rapidly became clear however that students were not well placed to influence the types of programs that would be used in their schools and the target audience soon shifted to teachers.)
  • The community/voluntary sector has an important role to play in supporting students and teachers--and young people are tremendous resources for their communities. School-community collaboration can benefit everyone involved.
  • Voluntary sector organizations that specialize in offering educational programs are a significant source of support to schools and are essential contributors to overall program design. At the same time, it is important to ensure that students and teachers retain the strongest voice in defining their own needs.
  • Education for sustainability is less limited by provincial curricula than by cultural images of education (e.g. students at desks in a classroom with a teacher in front). Therefore, creating space for innovation in education (which builds on the strengths of students, teachers and communities) is a prerequisite for transformation.
  • Local innovations can spread through a network of support and exchange supported by effective use of communication tools. However, creating a functional on-line forum that meets the needs of the diverse participants in this process and connects them to one another presents a major challenge.
  • While education is a provincial jurisdiction in Canada, much can be learned by making inter-provincial connections. Bringing the Quebec experience to the attention of the rest of Canada has been particularly beneficial and has resulted in the adaptation and broad dissemination of approaches originating in Quebec.
  • Innovation in education is a process that in itself involves continual learning; continual program readjustments are therefore required to adapt to a changing landscape.
The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Ma rue verte

Ma rue verte

Ma rue verte est un programme d’envergure nationale qui encourage les jeunes à participer activement à la création d’un avenir durable en collaboration avec leurs écoles et leurs communautés. Ma rue verte veut amener les élèves non seulement à découvrir le monde qui les entoure, mais aussi à participer activement à des projets d’une certaine durée qui ont un lien avec l’ampleur des enjeux environnementaux et sociaux et leur permettent d’assumer une responsabilité personnelle.

Vision stratégique

La vision de la fondation est celle d'une société plus solide et plus viable, bâtie en partie avec le soutien de l'école, qui incite les jeunes à agir dès maintenant avec le reste de la communauté en vue de créer un avenir plus équitable et plus responsable pour le Canada.

Financement total

10 000 000 $

Historique du programme

La fondation a lancé Ma rue verte en 1999 dans le but d’amener les jeunes à participer activement à la protection de l’environnement. Sa stratégie consistait à aider les organismes du secteur bénévole à offrir aux écoles des programmes de qualité adaptés aux intérêts des élèves et aux besoins des enseignants. Si les objectifs et les valeurs fondamentales du programme n’ont pas changé, la stratégie, par contre, a considérablement évolué. Après avoir travaillé à « combler un vide » (l’absence d’éducation relative à l’environnement dans les écoles), Ma rue verte s’efforce maintenant d’« ouvrir des espaces » où il est possible d’établir des relations et de concevoir des initiatives originales à l’appui de l’éducation pour un avenir durable. Depuis sa création, Ma rue verte offre une plateforme en ligne, www.marueverte.ca, où les élèves et les enseignants ont accès à une variété de programmes de qualité contrôlée offerts par des organismes environnementaux. Le site s’est récemment développé afin de faciliter les liens entre les multiples acteurs et les ressources, dans l’espoir de soutenir l’innovation locale et l’émergence d’un mouvement national.

Pour plus d’information, voir Tracer le chemin à mesure que nous avançons : Changement de contexte et de stratégie pour Ma rue verte.

Leçons clés

  • Les jeunes apprennent quand ils s'engagent dans un processus d'apprentissage. L'apprentissage engagé mise sur les passions des élèves et leur donne foi en l'avenir. L'engagement est favorisé par les possibilités d'agir, de tisser des liens (avec les gens et les lieux) et de comprendre « les grandes idées » (contenu signifiant et intégré). Les projets d'action conjoints entre l'école et la collectivité sont le véhicule idéal de ce type d'engagement.
  • Comme les enseignants engagés sont la clé de l'enseignement engagé, il est essentiel de soutenir l'engagement des enseignants. (À ses débuts, le programme ciblait les élèves par le truchement de la télévision et d'Internet. On a vite constaté que les élèves étaient mal placés pour influencer le type de programmes utilisé à l'école et le programme a donc rapidement ciblé plutôt les enseignants.)
  • Le secteur communautaire et bénévole a un rôle important à jouer dans le soutien des élèves et des enseignants — et les jeunes sont une ressource extraordinaire pour la collectivité. La collaboration entre école et collectivité profite à tout le monde.
  • Les organismes du secteur bénévole qui offrent des programmes pédagogiques apportent un soutien précieux aux écoles et leur contribution est essentielle à la conception globale des programmes. Par ailleurs, il est important de s'assurer que les élèves et les enseignants sont les premiers à définir leurs besoins.
  • Ce n'est pas tant le programme d'études provincial qui limite l'éducation pour un avenir viable, mais plutôt les images culturelles de l'éducation (des élèves assis en classe avec un enseignant devant eux). La création d'un espace pour innover en éducation (en misant sur les forces des élèves, des enseignants et de la collectivité) est donc une condition préalable de la transformation.
  • On peut diffuser les innovations locales par le truchement d'un réseau de soutien et d'échange, soutenue par l'utilisation efficace des outils de communication. Mais il reste très difficile de créer un forum en ligne qui réponde aux besoins de l'éventail de participants engagés dans ce processus et les relie les uns aux autres.
  • Même si l'éducation est de compétence provinciale au Canada, il peut être très utile de développer des liens interprovinciaux. Partager l'expérience du Québec avec le reste du Canada s'est révélé particulièrement fructueux; cela a permis d'adapter et de diffuser largement les approches émanant du Québec.
  • L'innovation en éducation est un processus qui suppose l'apprentissage sur une base continue; il faut donc sans cesse ajuster les programmes pour les adapter aux fluctuations du contexte.

www.marueverte.ca

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank