Supporting Family Caregivers

Supporting Family Caregivers

Care Renewal

The Foundation works with broad coalitions of health and social sector organizations to promote policy changes and improvements to service accessibility for Canada’s largely undocumented population of family caregivers. These initiatives have the potential to significantly ease their lives, enabling them to better sustain their caregiving activities.

The Foundation accomplishes this by supporting efforts to improve access to user-friendly information, respite and flexible working conditions, including ‘caregiving leaves of absence’ and other policies to relieve financial burdens and eliminate barriers to caregivers’ place in the workforce.

The Foundation is also supporting the dissemination of successful service delivery innovations such as the Care-Ring Voice Network and Tyze.com.

Launched in late 2010, The Belonging Fund makes Tyze’s online networks available to Canadian charitable organizations that work with those who are at risk of suffering from isolation. Expressions of interest from qualified charities are welcomed. Learn more about The Belonging Fund from Tyze’s website.

Strategic Vision

Through its Supporting Family Caregivers initiative, the Foundation envisions an inclusive society and health care system that recognize, respect and support the critical aid provided by family caregivers.

Granting Total

Phase I & II $4,700,000
Phase III $682,207
Total granted: $5,382,207

Program History

With the intention of better defining and promoting a vision for caregiver respite in Canada, the Care Renewal Program emerged from The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation’s Respite Initiative, and particularly the National Respite Care Study, whose key finding was that respite is an outcome – something to be experienced by caregivers. The story of this research finding is told in Silver Donald Cameron’s This Day is for Me, released by the Foundation in 2003.

While many caregivers themselves are looking for respite in its broadest sense, the concept of respite as a result of varied interventions challenged providers to move beyond thinking in terms of a set of fixed services towards a more individual, tailored, flexible and ultimately, more effective response.

The Care Renewal Program funded 13 community-based projects testing new ways of helping caregivers experience physical, emotional, psychological, social and spiritual relief. Some were focused on caregivers dealing with specific afflictions, while others provide supports for potentially all types of caregivers. The unifying themes were caregiver voice, respite, choice, empowerment and recognition. Knowledge building was also a priority, promoted through yearly meetings between project leaders through teleconferences, online knowledge forums and site visits, as well as through the documentation of the program by a researcher-evaluator.

Overall, the projects demonstrated that innovative and effective caregiver respite is possible with relatively modest funding.

Challenges identified by the Foundation include:

  • Difficulty in identifying or reaching families and caregivers in need of support
  • Matching volunteers’ needs with those of families
  • Maintaining contact and exchanging information with key stakeholders
  • Clarifying and accurately representing the needs of individuals and families
  • Determining communities’ capacities to respond to caregiver needs
  • Accurately estimating the time required for individual project activities
  • Acknowledging small successes as genuine progress towards proposed final outcomes
  • Coping with needs exceeding a project’s capacity to respond

Key Lessons

  • It is often difficult to identify or reach families and caregivers in need of support; similarly, it is a challenge to match volunteers’ needs with those of families.
  • Maintaining contact and exchanging information with key stakeholders is vital, as is the need to clearly and accurately represent the needs of individuals and families.
  • Oversight is necessary in determining communities’ capacity to respond to caregiver needs, accurately estimating the time required for individual project activities and in responding to situations where regional needs exceed a project’s capacity to respond.
  • Change is gradual. While it has traditionally proven more effective to invest in capacity building for caregiver support, as we increase activity in policy advocacy, it is important to acknowledge gradual successes as genuine progress towards proposed final outcomes.
  • Respite does not need to be expensive. Caregivers often want support and recognition that does not cost much. Small things can make big differences in the lives of family caregivers.
  • Caregivers need choices in order to experience respite. The same strategies and/or support will not work for everyone.
  • Programs need to respond to the priorities and needs of both caregivers and care receivers. Caregivers feel relief when they know that the needs of the family members and friends they care for are being met through quality care and enjoyable activities.

For more information, visit:

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Soutien aux aidants naturels

Soutien aux aidants naturels

Second souffle

La fondation collabore avec de vastes coalitions d’organismes du secteur de la santé et des services sociaux à la promotion de changements aux politiques et d’une meilleure accessibilité des services pour la population largement invisible des aidants naturels du Canada. Ces initiatives peuvent leur faciliter considérablement la vie et leur permettre de mieux supporter leur rôle d’aidants naturels.

Pour atteindre cet objectif, la fondation appuie des projets visant à améliorer l’accès à une information conviviale, au répit et à des conditions de travail flexibles, notamment des « congés autorisés pour les aidants naturels », et a encouragé l’adoption d’autres politiques ayant pour but d’alléger le fardeau financier et de supprimer les obstacles à la présence des aidants naturels en milieu de travail.

La fondation soutient également la diffusion d’innovations réussies en matière de prestation de services telles que le Réseau entre-aidants et Tyze.com.

Lancé en 2010, The Belonging Fund met les réseaux en ligne  Tyze à la disposition des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens qui travaillent avec des personnes risquant de souffrir d’isolement. Les manifestations d’intérêt des organismes qualifiés sont présentement les bienvenues. Pour en savoir plus, visitez www.tyze.com.

Vision stratégique

L'initiative Soutien aux aidants naturels reflète la vision d'une société et d'un système de soins de santé inclusifs qui reconnaissent, respectent et appuient l'aide d'importance cruciale offerte par les proches aidants.

Financement total

Phases I et II : 4 700 000 $ + Phase III : 682 207 $ = 5 382 207 $

Historique du programme

Créé pour mieux définir et promouvoir une vision du répit pour les aidants naturels du Canada, le programme Second souffle est issu de l'initiative Soutien aux aidants naturels du Canada de La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell, notamment l'étude Projet national des soins de releve. Celle-ci concluait que le répit est un aboutissement, une fin en soi pour les aidants. On raconte comment la recherche a mené à cette conclusion dans l'ouvrage Cette journee m’appartient, de Silver Donald Cameron, lancé par la fondation en 2003.

Bien que nombre d'aidants aspirent à un répit dans son sens le plus large, le concept de répit en tant que résultat d'interventions diverses a forcé les fournisseurs à délaisser au-delà d'une formule préétablie pour offrir des services plus individualisés, plus adaptés, plus flexibles et, au bout du compte, plus efficaces.

Le programme Second souffle a financé 13 projets communautaires qui ont testé de nouveaux moyens de soulager les aidants, et ce, sur le plan physique, émotif, social et spirituel. Quleques-uns s'adressaient aux aidants de personnes atteintes de certaines maladies et d'autres pouvaient offrir des formes de soutien à pratiquement tous les types d'aidants. Ces projets avaient en commun d'offrir à l'aidant une voix au chapitre, un répit, un choix, du pouvoir et de la reconnaissance. L'une des priorités était aussi la création de savoir — par des rencontres annuelles entre responsables de projets, des téléconférences, des forums en ligne et des sites Web, ainsi que la documentation du programme par un chercheur-évaluateur.

Dans l'ensemble, les projets ont démontré qu'il est possible d'offrir aux aidants un répit novateur et efficace avec des fonds relativement modestes.

Leçons clés

  • Il est souvent difficile d'identifier ou d'atteindre les familles et les aidants qui ont besoin de soutien; de même, c'est tout un défi d'harmoniser les besoins des bénévoles et ceux des familles.
  • Il est vital de garder le contact et d'échanger l'information avec des intervenants clés, et de représenter clairement et correctement les besoins des personnes et ceux des familles.
  • La surveillance est nécessaire pour établir la capacité des collectivités de répondre aux besoins des aidants, estimer correctement le temps requis pour chacune des activités de projet et réagir à des situations où les besoins de la région dépassent les capacités d'intervention du projet.
  • Le changement est graduel. Même si on sait qu'il est généralement plus efficace d'investir dans le renforcement des capacités de soutien aux aidants, au fur et à mesure que nous sommes plus actifs dans le domaine du plaidoyer politique, il importe de reconnaître que les succès remportés en cours de route nous rapprochent graduellement des résultats finals proposés.
  • Le répit n'est pas forcément coûteux. Le soutien et la reconnaissance auxquels aspirent les aidants ne coûtent souvent pas très cher. Les petites choses peuvent faire une différence énorme dans la vie des proches aidants.
  • Pour obtenir du répit, les aidants ont besoin d'avoir le choix. La stratégie ou le soutien qui conviennent à l'un ne conviennent pas forcément à l'autre.
  • Les programmes doivent répondre à la fois aux priorités et besoins des aidants et à ceux des personnes aidées. Les aidants profitent du répit quand ils savent que les besoins des amis et des membres de la famille dont ils s'occupent sont comblés grâce à des soins de qualité et des activités agréables.

Liens pertinents

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank