Sport for Development

Sport for Development

The Sport for Development movement in Canada involves community sport projects that intentionally use sport to build healthy communities, to train the next generation of leaders and to influence government at all levels to adopt more inclusive and robust sport-related policies.

Strategic Vision

Through the Sport for Development initiative, the Foundation envisions a network of community leaders who actively use sports programs to bring together people from diverse backgrounds, to reinforce healthy lifestyles and to foster both civic pride and participation – all building blocks of a resilient community – with particular emphasis on reaching vulnerable individuals and communities.

Granting Total

  • True Sport Foundation: $2.5 million over 4 years
  • Ray-Cam Co-operative Community Centre: $336,000 over 3 years
  • Sport Matters Group: $459,000 over 4 years
  • KidSport Canada: $325,000 over 3 years
  • Active Circle - Motivate Canada: $222,000 planning grant for 1 year; $1,850,000 over 5 years
  • Equitas: $300,000 over 3 years

Program History

Since September 2006, the six grants making up the Sport for Development program have supported community-based projects, generated new discussions between community leaders and policymakers, influenced the development of provincial and national sport policy, and promoted the training and skills development of community sport coaches and leaders. Each year, an emerging group of sport for development practitioners, researchers, policymakers and young athletes meet to share lessons and discuss ways to increase the impact of their work.

We have broadened the reach of this initiative by collaborating with the Ontario Trillium Foundation on several projects and by joining the Working Together Initiative, a multi-sectoral effort to use sport in addressing complex health and educational challenges.

Community sport organizations are sharing what they are learning about effective sport for development programs: an excellent example is True Sport’s What Sport Can Do. These lessons are being shared with the community sector, funders and governments at conferences and forums across Canada.

Moving forward, the Foundation hopes to establish some of the lessons from community sport projects within the culture and practice of other major Canadian sport organizations.

Key Lessons

  • Community sport programs have a significant impact on health and educational outcomes for young people. Sport programs help recent immigrants to integrate into Canadian communities, provide an alternative to gang behaviour, and foster community participation.
  • Program effectiveness can be enhanced by recruiting and training teenaged volunteers to coach younger children. Almost half of all volunteers in Canada begin their volunteering through sport and recreation; it is a catalyst for a whole range of volunteer activities later in life. Therefore, the active participation of young volunteers can improve program impact and make a longer term contribution to the voluntary sector.
  • The Sport Matters Group has built an effective network of community and national sport leaders without building an organization. This may be a model for national networks to extend their influence without controlling resources.
  • Community sport initiatives bring together people working in health promotion, crime prevention, immigrant settlement and education, encouraging holistic approaches to community development.
  • This initiative has proven highly successful, both in local communities and at the national policy level. Embedding promising approaches into the structures and mindsets of the institutions that fund and govern sport in Canada (e.g. national sport and recreation organizations and coaching associations) remains a challenge; it represents a shift from gatekeeper to facilitator.
  • Some community sport practitioners are moving from a service-delivery model in which outside experts organize sports for people to an approach in which citizens draw upon their own talents and resources to build their own programs and communities. In a similar vein, there is an untapped capacity for young people to design and run their own programs. This represents a significant shift for the task oriented sports community. Academics and sport practitioners adopt very different approaches toresearch and its use; it would be to everyone’s advantage to bridge the gap between these two cultures.

The Foundation staff and practitioners of Sport for Development have defined a set of guiding principles for the Sport for Development initiative.

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Sport et développement

Sport et développement

Au Canada, le mouvement Sport for Development (le sport au service du développement) regroupe des projets sportifs communautaires ayant volontairement recours au sport pour bâtir des communautés résilientes, former la prochaine génération de dirigeants sportifs et convaincre tous les ordres de gouvernement d’adopter, en matière de sport, des politiques plus inclusives et plus robustes.

Vision stratégique

Sport et développement reflète la vision d'un réseau de leaders communautaires qui rassemblent des gens de toutes origines, renforcent un mode de vie sain, favorisent la fierté et la participation civique — éléments de base des collectivités résilientes — et s'efforcent de toucher notamment les personnes et les communautés vulnérables.

Financement total

  • Fondation sport pur : 2 500 000 $ sur 4 ans
  • Ray-Cam Co-operative Community Centre : 336 000 $ sur 3 ans
  • Groupe Le sport est important : 459 000 $ sur 4 ans
  • KidSport Canada : 325 000 $ sur 3 ans
  • Cercle actif – Motivate Canada : 222 000 $, subvention de planification sur 1 an; 1 850 000 $ sur 5 ans

Historique du programme

Depuis septembre 2006, les cinq subventions accordées par le programme Sport et développement ont soutenu des projets communautaires, encouragé de nouvelles discussions entre leaders communautaires et décideurs, influencé l’élaboration de politiques du sport provinciales et nationales et favorisé la formation et le développement des aptitudes d’instructeurs et de dirigeants sportifs communautaires. Chaque année, un nouveau groupe de praticiens, de chercheurs, de décideurs et de jeunes athlètes se rencontrent pour partager les enseignements tirés et discuter de moyens d’accroître l’impact de leur travail.

Nous avons étendu la portée de cette initiative en collaborant à plusieurs projets avec La fondation Trillium de l’Ontario et en nous joignant à Working Together Initiative, projet multisectoriel faisant appel au sport pour trouver la solution à des problèmes de santé et d’éducation complexes.

Les organismes de sport communautaires commencent à partager ce qu’ils ont appris des programmes efficaces de sport au service du développement : un excellent exemple est le document L’influence du sport de la Fondation sport pur. Ces leçons sont partagées avec le secteur communautaire, les organismes subventionnaires et les gouvernements à l’occasion de conférences et de forums tenus dans toutes les régions canadiennes.

Maintenant nous espérons intégrer certaines leçons tirées de projets de sport communautaires à la culture et à la pratique d’autres grands organismes de sport canadiens.

Leçons clés

  • Les programmes de sport communautaires ont un impact important sur la santé et les résultats scolaires des jeunes. Ils aident les nouveaux immigrants à s'intégrer aux collectivités canadiennes, offrent une solution de rechange aux gangs de rues et favorisent la participation communautaire.
  • Pour accroître l'efficacité des programmes, on peut recruter et former de jeunes bénévoles qui serviront d'entraîneurs aux plus jeunes. Près de la moitié des bénévoles canadiens ont commencé leur action bénévole dans les sports et loisirs; ce secteur catalyse une foule d'activités bénévoles plus tard dans la vie. L'engagement de jeunes bénévoles peut donc accroître l'impact des programmes et contribuer à l'essor à plus long terme du secteur bénévole.
  • Le Groupe le Sport est important a tissé un réseau efficace de leaders sportifs à l'échelle de la collectivité et du pays sans créer d'organisme. Les réseaux nationaux peuvent s'en inspirer pour élargir leur influence sans contrôler de ressources.
  • Les projets de sport communautaires rassemblent des gens qui œuvrent à la promotion de la santé, la prévention du crime, l'intégration et la scolarisation des immigrants, ce qui favorise une approche holistique du développement communautaire.
  • Le programme a beaucoup de succès, tant dans les collectivités locales que sur le plan des politiques nationales. Mais il n'a pas encore été possible d'intégrer ces approches prometteuses dans les structures et les mentalités des appareils qui financent et régissent le sport au Canada (organismes de sports et loisirs nationaux et associations d'entraîneurs, par exemple); cela représente un virage du contrôle vers l'animation.
  • Certains praticiens du sport communautaire délaissent l'approche axée sur l'offre de services où des experts de l'extérieur organisent les sports à l'intention des gens; ils se tournent plutôt vers un modèle où les citoyens misent sur leurs talents et leurs ressources pour bâtir eux-mêmes leurs programmes et leurs collectivités. Dans le même ordre d'idées, il faut utiliser la capacité des jeunes de concevoir et diriger leurs propres programmes. Cela représente tout un virage pour la communauté sportive traditionnellement axée sur les tâches. Universitaires et praticiens du sport ont une conception bien différente de la recherche et de son utilisation; il est dans l'intérêt de tous de combler l'écart entre ces deux cultures.

Le personnel de la fondation et des praticiens du sport au service du développement ont défini un ensemble de principes directeurs pour l’initiative Sport et développement.

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank