Engaging Youth
Related
 

The Foundation will consider proposals from youth-led organizations and networks that engage a range of youth in addressing major social issues.

 

Engaging Youth

Strategic Vision

The Foundation envisions a society enriched by its commitment to the engagement of young people as active participants, recognizing their unique perspectives, skills, and values.

Program History

During his lifetime J.W. McConnell consistently supported organizations that served disadvantaged youth, such as the YMCA and Boys’ and Girls’ Clubs. In addition, the Foundation supported many university students with scholarships.

This focus on youth has continued; in the past decade almost $50 million has been allocated to projects benefiting youth. Table 1, which lists many of these projects, distinguishes between adult-led activities directed at young people, and projects or organizations initiated and run by youth themselves.

Our more recent grants reveal a decided bias in favour of youth-led organizations rather than organizations delivering programs to youth. This support has been directed to three distinct cohorts:

  1. Campus-based organizations—ranging from Meal Exchange to Journalists for Human Rights to Forces Avenir. Some of these organizations have grown into dynamic movements of young people. Engineers Without Borders, for example, in ten short years has established vibrant chapters in virtually every Engineering faculty in Canada and has received acclaim for its programs dealing with water, sanitation, and agriculture in Africa.
  2. Youth leaders with powerful ideasTaking IT Global was one of the first social networking sites, linking young people from dozens of countries who share aspirations to create a better world. Free the Children started as a small group in Toronto that wanted to improve the lives of children in poor countries. CanadaHelps was a remarkable initiative of three enterprising Queen’s students who built an online portal for charitable giving, now channeling well over $20 million annually for Canadian charities.
  3. The YouthScape program—launched in 2006 to involve excluded or disengaged youth in planning and implementing community development initiatives. YouthScape taught us, and the local sponsors, a lot about the value of involving young people, and about the challenges in doing so. The YouthScape network has produced a video, a Guidebook and several reflective papers that share the lessons from this initiative that concluded in 2010.

The Way Forward

Our experience with YouthScape has led us to become engaged with emerging hubs of youth-led organizations that are pooling resources, learning how to effectively engage mainstream institutions and becoming a coherent voice for youth on policy issues. The evolution of our youth programming portfolio—from scholarships for individuals, to support for exemplary youth-led organizations and finally, to support networks of youth leaders and organizations—reflects our learning about social innovation.

We will continue to explore ways in which the Foundation can work collaboratively with the broader youth engagement community to ensure greater impact.

Key Lessons

  • While a competitive “Request for Proposals” may generate the most coherent proposals, some organizations doing the most innovative work with youth may remain below the radar screen or be less experienced at writing proposals.
  • A well-run small grants fund can successfully nourish the dreams and talents of young people to initiate a project. In order to change municipal and organizational policies, adult mentors can be useful allies to help them navigate the dynamics of complex systems.
  • Civic institutions and traditional youth-serving agencies may have a successful track record in attracting previously engaged young people (students, athletes, etc.). However, it is much more challenging to be accessible and relevant to young people who do not see themselves as “belonging” to a broader community. Organizations that are serious about including marginalized youth often need to start by reviewing their own values, structures and behaviour in light of where these youth are at.
  • We are learning about the approach that outstanding “youth-friendly” organizations embrace to promote authentic civic participation by young people: youth engagement is not a discrete project, but rather, a way of living. It begins by listening to the young people and affirms their rights and skills rather than focusing exclusively on their needs.
  • There is no coherent “youth engagement” field; leadership, networks and funding opportunities tend to be organized around specific issues such as education, recreation, health, job skills training, crime prevention, etc. People are most easily engaged by working on a specific issue in their community.

Table 1: McConnell Foundation grants to youth programming, 2000 – 2010

Projects Dates Amount
A. Youth as Beneficiaries of Adult-led initiatives
Green Street 1999 – 2010 9,675,000
ArtsSmarts 1996 – 2008 9,720,000
Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation 2005 – 2009 85,000
Community Service Learning (10 universities) 2004 – 2010 9,000,000
Roots of Empathy 2004 – 2008 730,000
Pédiatrie sociale 2007 – 2010 600,000
La Maison des Enfants 2003 – 2006 230,000
Ray-Cam: MoreSports 2002 – 2005 220,000
True Sport Foundation 2006 – 2010 2,500,000
KidSport / Foodbanks 2008 – 2010 325,000
JUMP 2005 – 2010 781,289
CCCO / Earlscourt 2007 – 2010 485,000
Scouts Canada 2000 – 2006 204,000
Pathways / Toujours Ensemble 2008 – 2012 1,500,000
Adult-led organizations with significant youth input into programming
LOVE 2001 – 2004 337,500
L’Institut de Nouveau Monde 2006 – 2009 450,000
Equitas 2005 – 2011 600,000
Motivate Canada 2008 – 2013 2,072,000
Ray-Cam: YELL 2007 – 2010 336,000
PEYO 2002 – 2005 104,000
Eva’s Initiatives 2006 – 2009 290,000
B. Support for youth-led organizations or initiatives
Engaging youth to impact a specific domain, campus based
Engineers without Borders 2005 – 2008 490,000
Journalists for Human Rights 2005 – 2009 185,000
Meal Exchange 2002 – 2004 550,000
Sierra Youth Coalition 2003 – 2009 445,000
AQPERE 2006 – 2009 297,000
WUSC 2005 – 2008 335,000
Engaging youth to impact a specific domain, not campus based
National Youth in Care Network 2007 – 2011 632,800
Otesha 2006 – 2010 340,000
Santropol Roulant 2004 – 2007 226,840
YouCan 2003 – 2010 580,000
Empowering youth as volunteers or citizens as an end in itself
TakingITGlobal 2006 – 2009 700,000
Framework Foundation 2004 – 2006 80,000
Framework Foundation 2007 – 2010 517,000
Forces Avenir 2006 – 2010 525,000
Free the Children / Volunteer Now 2005 – 2008 540,000
Power Camp National 2004 – 2007 472,500
Power Camp National 2007 – 2010 544,000
Apathy is Boring 2006 – 2009 189,000
C. YouthScape 2005 – 2010 2,123,500

Resources

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Engagement des jeunes
Liées
 

La fondation considérera les propositions d’organismes ou de réseaux dirigés par des jeunes qui engagent une diversité de jeunes à s’attaquer à d’importants enjeux sociaux.

 

Engagement des jeunes

Vision stratégique

La fondation envisage une société enrichie par sa détermination à engager les jeunes comme citoyens dynamiques, reconnaissant leurs points de vue, leurs compétences et leurs valeurs propres.

Historique du programme

Durant toute sa vie, J.W. McConnell a soutenu des organismes au service de jeunes défavorisés, notamment le YMCA et les Clubs Garçons et Filles. De plus, la fondation a aidé de nombreux étudiants universitaires au moyen de bourses d’études.

Cet intérêt particulier pour les jeunes n’a pas faibli : au cours de la dernière décennie, près de 50 millions de dollars ont été alloués à des projets au profit des jeunes. Le Tableau 1, qui énumère bon nombre de ces projets, fait la distinction entre des activités pour les jeunes dirigées par des adultes et des projets ou des organismes créés et dirigés par les jeunes eux-mêmes.

Nos subventions plus récentes révèlent un net parti pris pour les organismes dirigés par les jeunes par rapport à ceux qui leur fournissent des programmes. Nous avons concentré notre soutien sur trois cohortes :

  1. Des organismes sur campus – allant de Meal Exchange à Journalistes pour les Droits Humains et à Forces Avenir. Certains d’entre eux sont devenus des mouvements dynamiques de jeunes. Ingénieurs sans frontières, par exemple, a établi, en à peine dix ans, des sections très actives dans presque toutes les facultés de génie du Canada et reçu des éloges pour ses programmes portant sur l’eau, l’hygiène et l’agriculture en Afrique.
  2. De jeunes leaders aux idées révolutionnaires - Taking IT Global a été l’un des premiers sites de réseautage social, créant un lien entre des jeunes de dizaines de pays qui partagent le désir de bâtir un monde meilleur. Enfants entraide était, au départ, un petit groupe de Torontois désireux d’améliorer le sort des enfants dans les pays pauvres. CanaDon, pour sa part, était un projet remarquable conçu par trois étudiants entreprenants de l’Université Queen’s; ils ont créé un portail web pour les dons de charité qui canalise maintenant plus de 20 millions de dollars chaque année vers des organismes de bienfaisance canadien.
  3. Le programme YouthScape – lancé en 2006 en vue d’amener les jeunes marginalisés ou désengagés à participer à la planification et à la réalisation de projets de développement communautaire. YouthScape nous a beaucoup appris, ainsi qu’aux commanditaires locaux, sur l’importance d’engager les jeunes et sur les défis que soulève une telle décision. Le réseau YouthScape a produit une vidéo, un guide et plusieurs documents de réflexion pour partager les enseignements tirés de cette initiative qui a pris fin en 2010.

L’avenir

Notre expérience avec YouthScape nous a amenés à nous engager auprès de noyaux émergeants d’organismes dirigés par des jeunes qui mettent en commun les ressources, apprennent à mobiliser efficacement les grandes institutions et deviennent une voix cohérente par laquelle les jeunes s’expriment sur les enjeux politiques. L’évolution de nos programmes à l’intention des jeunes – depuis les bourses individuelles jusqu’au soutien d’organismes exemplaires dirigés par des jeunes et, finalement, à l’appui de réseaux de jeunes leaders et d’organismes jeunesse – reflète notre nouveau savoir sur l’innovation sociale.

Nous continuerons d’explorer les moyens pour la fondation de travailler en collaboration avec la communauté œuvrant à l’engagement des jeunes pour obtenir plus d’impact.

Leçons clés

  • La formule de concours par demande de propositions attire les propositions les plus cohérentes, mais elle peut pénaliser certains des organismes qui réalisent le travail le plus novateur auprès des jeunes et qui ont peu d'expérience dans la préparation d'une proposition.
  • Un fonds de microfinancement bien géré peut inciter les jeunes qui ont des rêves et du talent à lancer un projet. Pour changer les politiques municipales et organisationnelles, le mentor adulte est souvent un allié précieux qui aide les jeunes à naviguer dans la dynamique de systèmes complexes.
  • Les institutions civiles et les organismes jeunesse classiques peuvent attirer les jeunes déjà engagés (étudiants, athlètes, etc.). Il est cependant beaucoup plus difficile d'être accessible et pertinent pour les jeunes qui n'ont pas l'impression de faire partie de la collectivité. Les organismes qui veulent vraiment inclure les jeunes marginalisés doivent souvent commencer par réviser leurs valeurs, leurs structures et leur comportement pour rejoindre les jeunes sur leur terrain.
  • Nous tirons profit de l'approche utilisée par les organismes amis des jeunes pour promouvoir la véritable participation civique des jeunes : l'engagement des jeunes n'est pas un simple projet, c'est une façon d'être. Il faut d'abord écouter les jeunes et affirmer leurs droits et leurs compétences plutôt que de se concentrer exclusivement sur leurs besoins.
  • L'engagement des jeunes n'est pas un secteur comme tel; le leadership, les réseaux et les possibilités de financement tendent à se structurer selon l'enjeu — éducation, loisirs, santé, formation professionnelle, prévention du crime, etc. Les gens se mobilisent plus facilement autour d'un projet communautaire donné.

Tableau 1 : Financement alloué par la fondation McConnell à sa programmation jeunesse, 2000 – 2010

Projets Dates Montant
A. Jeunes bénéficiant d’initiatives dirigées par des adultes
Ma rue vert 1999 – 2010 9 675 000
GénieArts 1996 – 2008 9 720 000
Fondation canadienne des bourses de mérite 2005 – 2009 85 000
Apprentissage par le service communautaire (10 universités) 2004 – 2010 9 000 000
Racines de l’empathie 2004 – 2008 730 000
Pédiatrie sociale 2007 – 2010 600 000
La Maison des Enfants 2003 – 2006 230 000
Ray-Cam: MoreSports 2002 – 2005 220 000
Fondation Sport pur 2006 – 2010 2 500 000
Sport jeunesse / Banques alimentaires 2008 – 2010 325 000
JUMP 2005 – 2010 781 289
CCCO / Earlscourt 2007 – 2010 485 000
Scouts Canada 2000 – 2006 204 000
Pathways / Toujours Ensemble 2008 – 2012 1 500 000
Organismes dirigés par des adultes où les jeunes participent activement à l’établissement de la programmation
LOVE 2001 – 2004 337 500
L’Institut de Nouveau Monde 2006 – 2009 450 000
Equitas 2005 – 2011 600 000
Motivate Canada 2008 – 2013 2 072 000
Ray-Cam: YELL 2007 – 2010 336 000
PEYO 2002 – 2005 104 000
Eva’s Initiatives 2006 – 2009 290 000
B. Soutien d’organismes ou de projets dirigés par des jeunes
Engager les jeunes pour produire un impact dans un domaine précis, sur campus
Ingénieurs sans frontières 2005 – 2008 490 000
Journalistes pour les Droits Humains 2005 – 2009 185 000
Meal Exchange 2002 – 2004 550 000
Coalition jeunesse Sierra 2003 – 2009 445 000
AQPERE 2006 – 2009 297 000
EUMC 2005 – 2008 335 000
Engager les jeunes pour produire un impact dans un domaine précis, hors campus
Réseau national des jeunes pris en charge 2007 – 2011 632 800
Otesha 2006 – 2010 340 000
Santropol Roulant 2004 – 2007 226 840
YouCan 2003 – 2010 580 000
Autonomiser les jeunes par le bénévolat ou l’action citoyenne, comme une fin en soi
TakingITGlobal 2006 – 2009 700 000
Framework Foundation 2004 – 2006 80 000
Framework Foundation 2007 – 2010 517 000
Forces Avenir 2006 – 2010 525 000
Enfants Entraide / Volunteer Now 2005 – 2008 540 000
Filles d’action 2004 – 2007 472 500
Filles d’action 2007 – 2010 544 000
L’Apathie c’est plate 2006 – 2009 189 000
C. YouthScape 2005 – 2010 2 123 500

Ressources

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank