Community Service-Learning

Community Service-Learning

Community Service-Learning (CSL) is a model of experiential learning that combines classroom learning with volunteer work designed to achieve community goals and to instill in students a sense of civic engagement.

The Community Service-Learning program involves grants to ten universities to develop and expand their community service-learning programs for students. This includes support for professors to adapt courses, for community organizations to effectively absorb students and for practitioners to promote CSL within the university.

There is a complementary grant to the Canadian Alliance for Community Service-Learning (CACSL) to capture and articulate lessons about CSL to a broader national audience. Finally, the Canadian Community Economic Development Network (CCEDNET) has a grant to test a CSL model that is driven by community priorities.

Strategic Vision

Through its CSL investment, the Foundation envisions a society in which universities, students and community organizations work collaboratively to share and build knowledge and contribute to the well-being of Canadians.

Granting Total

2004 – 2011: $9,500,000

Program History

The Foundation launched its CSL program in 2004. This national, university-based initiative helps students enrich their learning and earn academic credits through hands-on experience in community organizations across Canada. Community service-learning also helps universities to tap into the learning, passion and energy of students and faculty as a way of developing practical lessons for community organizations. Finally, it provides an opportunity for community knowledge to influence university pedagogy and curricula.

To date, there has been a dramatic increase in CSL opportunities for students in the ten participating universities. In order to accommodate a range of motivations among students, community organizations and professors, universities have created a buffet of CSL opportunities from short term student placements to multi-year institutional partnerships focusing on a community issue.

In moving from the margins of academic life to the mainstream, CSL programs have pushed universities to make institutional commitments to engage with local communities and to fund CSL appropriately.

Key Lessons

  • Many students have a strong appetite for hands-on experience that is professionally relevant and personally rewarding. Effective CSL placements can have a profound effect on these individuals, improving their academic performance, nurturing a sustained commitment to volunteer activity, increasing their job prospects and stimulating civic engagement.
  • Success can be measured in many different ways: attracting and retaining students, improving pedagogy, gaining life and work experience, increasing the impact of a community organization and bringing more community knowledge into the classroom. At their best, placements are co-created by both the academic and the community sectors, respecting different types of knowledge and sharing decision-making in order to ensure mutual benefit.
  • Universities are much larger and better resourced than the vast majority of community organizations. By making grants to the universities, the Foundation reinforced the power imbalance between the universities and community organizations. As a result, universities have tended to frame the placements around courses and allocate budgets to meet their needs.
  • The current tenure, pay and promotion policies of universities for academics, in which research and publications are the main criteria inhibit the growth of effective CSL programs. Until community service is valued in the same way, many academics will be reluctant to commit the time necessary to effectively design and implement CSL programs.
  • Universities are intensely competitive for research and operating grants, attracting students, and institutional recognition. This inhibits the creation of a community of practice which enthusiastically shares knowledge and resources in order to build a movement that is stronger than the sum of each university’s program.

Resources

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Apprentissage par le service communautaire

Apprentissage par le service communautaire

L’apprentissage par le service communautaire (ASC) est un modèle d’apprentissage expérientiel qui allie apprentissage en classe et action bénévole en vue d’atteindre des objectifs communautaires, et insuffler aux étudiants le sens de l’engagement citoyen.

Le programme Apprentissage par le service communautaire (ASC) verse des subventions à dix établissements universitaires pour créer des programmes ASC à l’intention de leurs étudiants ou étendre leurs programmes actuels. Ce financement a pour but d’aider les professeurs à adapter leurs cours, les organismes communautaires à accueillir efficacement les étudiants et les praticiens à promouvoir l’ASC au sein de l’université.

Une subvention complémentaire est versée à l’Alliance canadienne pour l’apprentissage par le service communautaire (ACASC) afin qu’elle tire les leçons de l’expérience ASC et les présente à un plus large public, à l’échelle nationale. Enfin, le Réseau canadien de développement économique communautaire (RCDÉC) bénéficie d'une subvention pour mettre à l'essai un modèle d'ASC axé sur des priorités communautaires.

Vision stratégique

L'ASC reflète la vision d'une société où les universités, les étudiants et les organismes communautaires collaborent en vue de créer et diffuser du savoir, et contribuer au bien-être des Canadiens.

Financement total

2004 – 2011: 9 500 000 $

Historique du programme

La fondation a lancé son programme ASC en 2004. Cette initiative en milieu universitaire, d’envergure nationale, aide les étudiants à enrichir leur apprentissage et à obtenir des crédits d’études en acquérant une expérience pratique auprès d’organismes communautaires canadiens. L’apprentissage par le service communautaire aide aussi les universités à prendre avantage des nouvelles connaissances, de la passion et de l’énergie des étudiants et du corps professoral pour développer des leçons pratiques à l’intention des organismes communautaires.

Nous constatons une augmentation spectaculaire des possibilités ASC offertes aux étudiants dans les dix universités participantes. Pour satisfaire la diversité de motivations des étudiants, des organismes communautaires et des professeurs, les universités ont conçu tout un choix de projets ASC, allant de placements étudiants à court terme à des partenariats institutionnels pluriannuels focalisés sur un enjeu communautaire.

D’abord en marge de la vie universitaire, les programmes ASC sont maintenant courants; ils ont forcé les universités à s’engager auprès des communautés locales et à financer suffisamment l’ASC.

Leçon clés

  • Plusieurs étudiants sont avides d'expérience directe, recherchant à la fois pertinence professionnelle et enrichissement personnel. Les affectations efficaces en ASC peuvent les marquer profondément : amélioration des résultats scolaires, meilleures perspectives d'emploi et engagement à long terme envers le bénévolat et l'action civique.
  • Le succès peut se mesurer à plusieurs égards : attirer et retenir les étudiants; améliorer la pédagogie; acquérir une expérience de vie et de travail; accroître l'impact d'un organisme communautaire; et apporter le savoir communautaire dans les salles de cours. Dans l'idéal, les affectations sont créées conjointement par l'université et la collectivité, en respectant les divers types de savoir et processus de prise de décisions en vue de favoriser l'avantage mutuel.
  • La taille des universités et leurs ressources dépassent celles de la grande majorité des organismes communautaires. En versant des subventions aux universités seulement, la fondation a renforcé ce déséquilibre du pouvoir. Les universités ont donc eu tendance à structurer les affectations autour des cours et répartir les budgets en fonction de leurs besoins.
  • Principalement fondées sur la recherche et les publications, les politiques universitaires relatives à la titularisation, au salaire et aux promotions nuisent à l'essor de programmes d'ASC efficaces. Tant que le service communautaire ne sera pas valorisé au même titre, nombre d'universitaires hésiteront à prendre le temps requis pour concevoir et réaliser de manière efficace des programmes d'ASC.
  • Les universités se livrent une intense concurrence pour les subventions de recherche et de fonctionnement, les étudiants et la reconnaissance institutionnelle. Cela entrave la création d'une communauté de pratique qui partage avec enthousiasme le savoir et les ressources en vue de bâtir un mouvement plus fort que la somme de chacun des programmes universitaires.

Ressources

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank