ArtsSmarts

ArtsSmarts

ArtsSmarts brings together artists, teachers and students to explore the formal education curriculum using an art form as a means of discovery and co-learning. For example, music might be used to teach mathematics, or mural making applied to the study of history. This approach to learning has proven its significant and beneficial impact on student engagement and teacher practice over the past decade.

ArtsSmarts is also a network of arts, educational and community organizations at the local, regional and provincial levels. It serves as a forum for research, an idea and mentoring exchange, a means of securing private, public and academic participation and a source of innovative educational practice in schools.

Strategic Vision

ArtsSmarts envisions a sustainable, inclusive educational system that nurtures students’ development as critical thinkers and agents of change by engaging them in learning as an ongoing creative process.

While grounded in local collaboration between educators and artists, it proposes to all of Canada a community of learning and practice dedicated to continuous innovation in education.

Granting Total

Phase I 1996-1999 $2,700,000
Phase II 2000-2003 $3,420,000
Phase III 2003-2008 $3,600,000
Phase IV 2008-2010 $1,000,000
Total granted:   $10,720,000

Program History

In 1996, the Foundation convened a roundtable to consider the role of arts education in preparing young people for life in a post industrial economy. The meeting took place at a time of increased emphasis on ‘education for competitiveness’ and a decline in public support for arts education. The participants proposed a new arts-in-education model, made up of a community development approach linking schools and communities, coupled with a teacher development model supporting teacher-artist partnerships.

In 1998, ArtsSmarts was launched with seven partners1 and the Canadian Conference of the Arts as secretariat. By the end of three years, some 58,000 students had had an ArtsSmarts experience, and funding was provided for a second phase. Three new partners joined ArtsSmarts2 at this time, bringing the total to ten.

Over the next decade, ArtsSmarts would repeatedly demonstrate its positive impact on student engagement and teacher practice in participating schools. This drove home the need to start influencing the larger education system.

A number of developments helped establish ArtsSmarts’ credibility in this domain. First, work at Caslan School and other locations demonstrated ArtsSmarts’ value in creating successful educational outcomes for Indigenous learners. Second, the Canadian Council on Learning appointed a researcher-in-residence to study ArtsSmarts’ impact on student engagement and third, after a year-long review, the 19 partners3 and the Foundation agreed that ArtsSmarts should become an independent charitable organization with its own Board of Directors and a Partner Council.

The Foundation provided a grant to ArtsSmarts to support this process, and has representation on the Board. ArtsSmarts became a stand-alone charitable organization in 2009.

Nearly 500,000 students have taken part in ArtsSmarts since it began in 1998.. Last year alone, the network undertook 281 unique ArtsSmarts projects impacting 27,236 children and youth.

Key Lessons

  • ArtsSmarts has a catalystic effect on student engagement, and has beneficial impacts on academic performance and school completion.
  • ArtsSmarts enables students of varying ability levels to learn together at the same time – an important contribution to teaching strategies in today’s diverse classrooms .
  • Unlike ‘pre-packaged’ programs with pre-determined content, ArtsSmarts’ projects are co-created among teachers, artists and students, and often include unique local content. This responsive, flexible approach has ignited enduring interest among local program partners, who often become passionate advocates for the program.
  • ArtsSmarts projects are determined in part by students and often document personal perspectives on environmental and other issues. This may be an area for further research in line with efforts to shape our understanding of who we are in relation to the world.
  • ArtsSmarts offers insights into how a concept became a set of demonstration projects and eventually, a national program operating at local and regional levels. Interestingly, it has attracted over 450 funders and sponsors at the local and regional levels. Finding national partners has proven more difficult.
  • ArtsSmarts also holds lessons for us around working with intermediaries to manage programs and build networks. While each of two intermediaries made valuable contributions to the program, it became clear to the partners that in order to work in its best interests, ArtsSmarts needed to become a separate organization.
  • A paradoxical outcome occurred in the early stages of a project in a Métis school in Northern Alberta: initially, academic results declined considerably, even as anecdotal evidence indicated that the program was having a profoundly beneficial impact on student self esteem, and school and community culture. A lesson for us was that change sometimes creates ‘noise’ at one level that can obscure deeper shifts in a system. Eventually, local practice was refined and improved, and the school became the most improved in the District, and a model for Indigenous schools across Canada.
  • Educators in Saskatchewan have adapted the ArtsSmarts approach to create ‘TreatySmarts’, an inclusive exploration of the treaty process in Canada, using experiential learning and artistic co-creation as core elements in the program.
  • When the Canadian Council on Learning awarded ArtsSmarts a Researcher in Residence position, it enabled the program to structure itself as a community of inquiry and carry out groundbreaking research on student engagement. This holds implications for knowledge management in other domains, such as community service learning.

See Deconstructing Engagement: A First Generation Report on the ArtsSmarts Student Engagement Questionnaire. ArtsSmarts, 2007 and Engaged in Learning: The ArtsSmarts Model.

  1. Art Starts in Schools (BC); Calgary Arts Partners in Education Society; Community Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton; Newfoundland & Labrador Arts Council; Nova Scotia Arts Council; Portage and District Community Foundation (MAN); Saskatoon Foundation.
  2. Districts Scolaires # 1 et #11, Nouveau Brunswick; Fondation du Grand Quebec; Riverside School Board, Montreal
  3. See www.artssmarts.ca for a current listing.
The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

GénieArts

GénieArts

GénieArts réunit artistes, enseignants et élèves dans l’exploration du programme d’études à l’aide d’une forme d’art comme mode de découverte et de coapprentissage. Par exemple, la musique peut être utilisée pour l’enseignement des mathématiques, ou la création d’une murale appliquée à l’étude de l’histoire. Cette approche de l’apprentissage a eu un impact considérable et positif sur l’engagement des élèves et sur la pratique des enseignants au cours de la dernière décennie.

GénieArts est aussi un réseau d’organismes artistiques, d’établissements scolaires et d’organismes communautaires aux niveaux local, régional et provincial. C’est un forum pour la recherche, l’échange d’idées et le mentorat, un moyen d’obtenir la participation des secteurs privé et public et du milieu de l’éducation, et une source d’innovation dans la pratique de l’enseignement.

Vision stratégique

GénieArts reflète la vision d'un système d'enseignement viable et inclusif où l'élève développe sa capacité de réflexion critique et devient un agent de changement en participant à son apprentissage considéré comme un processus créatif continu.

Malgré le caractère local de la collaboration entre éducateurs et artistes, GénieArts propose à tout le Canada une communauté d'apprentissage et de pratique vouée à l'innovation continue dans le domaine de l'éducation.

Financement total

Phase I 1996-1999 2 700 000 $
Phase II 2000-2003 3 420 000 $
Phase III 2003-2008 3 600 000 $
Phase IV 2008-2010 1 000 000 $
Total octroyé :   10 720 000 $

Historique du programme

En 1996, la fondation a organisé une table ronde pour examiner le rôle de l’éducation par les arts dans la préparation des jeunes à vivre dans une économie postindustrielle. La rencontre a lieu au moment où la société met davantage l’accent sur « l’éducation pour la compétitivité » et où diminue le soutien public de l’enseignement des arts. Les participants ont proposé un nouveau modèle d’ « éducation par les arts». Celui-ci propose une approche de développement communautaire associant écoles et communautés, combinée à un modèle de perfectionnement des enseignants grâce à des partenariats enseignant-artiste.

En 1998, GénieArts est lancé avec sept partenaires1 et la Conférence canadienne des arts qui est chargée du secrétariat. Trois ans plus tard, déjà, quelque 58 000 élèves ont vécu une expérience GénieArts. Le financement est prolongé pour une deuxième phase. Trois nouveaux partenaires2 se joignent alors à GénieArts , portant le total à dix.

Durant la décennie suivante, GénieArts montre à maintes reprises son impact positif sur l’engagement des jeunes et la pratique des enseignants dans les écoles participantes. Il devient alors évident qu’il faut commencer à influencer l’ensemble du système d’éducation.

Un certain nombre de réalisations ont contribué à établir la crédibilité de GénieArts dans ce domaine. D’abord, le travail à l’école de Caslan et en d’autres endroits montre la valeur du programme pour l’obtention de succès scolaires chez les apprenants autochtones. Ensuite, le Conseil canadien sur l’apprentissage nomme un chercheur-en-résidence pour étudier l’impact de GénieArts sur l’engagement des élèves. Enfin, après un an de réflexion, les 19 partenaires3 et la fondation conviennent que GénieArts devrait devenir un organisme de bienfaisance indépendant, ayant son propre conseil d’administration et un Conseil des partenaires.

La fondation verse alors une subvention à GénieArts pour soutenir ce processus et elle siège au Conseil. GénieArts devient un organisme autonome en 2009.

Près de 500 000 élèves ont participé à GénieArts depuis sa création en 1998. L'an dernier seulement, le réseau a entrepris 281 projets GénieArts qui ont touché 27 236 enfants et adolescents.

Leçons clés

  • GénieArts catalyse l'engagement étudiant et exerce un impact favorable sur les résultats scolaires et l'achèvement des études.
  • GénieArts permet aux élèves ayant des capacités différentes d'apprendre ensemble, en même temps — un appui de taille aux stratégies d'enseignement dans les classes diversifiées d'aujourd'hui.
  • À l'inverse des programmes clé en main au contenu préétabli, les projets GénieArts sont créés de concert par les enseignants, les artistes et les élèves, et incluent souvent un contenu local. Cette flexibilité et cette ouverture ont suscité l'intérêt suivi de partenaires locaux qui défendent souvent le programme avec fougue.
  • Déterminés en partie par les élèves, les projets GénieArts étayent souvent des points de vue personnels sur l'environnement et d'autres enjeux. Cela mérite sans doute plus de recherche dans le cadre des efforts en vue de mieux saisir notre place dans le monde.
  • GénieArts permet de tirer des leçons sur la façon dont un concept peut se transformer en projets expérimentaux, puis en programme national réalisé à l'échelle locale et régionale. Fait intéressant, le programme a attiré plus de 450 bailleurs de fonds et commanditaires locaux et régionaux. Il a été plus difficile de trouver des partenaires d'envergure nationale.
  • GénieArts apprend une leçon à ceux d'entre nous qui gèrent des programmes et créent des réseaux avec un intermédiaire. Même si les deux intermédiaires étaient utiles au programme, les partenaires ont convenu que GénieArts avait intérêt à devenir un organisme distinct.
  • Un projet dans une école métisse du nord de l'Alberta a connu un résultat paradoxal à ses débuts — la baisse marquée des résultats scolaires, malgré l'effet visiblement positif du programme sur l'estime de soi des élèves et sur la culture de l'école et de la communauté. Cela nous a appris que le changement peut faire des vagues à un niveau donné, occultant ainsi des changements systémiques plus profonds. La pratique locale s'est améliorée et raffinée, et l'école fut celle qui connut le plus d'amélioration dans le district, faisant figure de modèle pour les écoles autochtones de tout le Canada.
  • Les éducateurs de la Saskatchewan ont adapté GénieArts pour créer l'approche « TreatySmarts », une étude inclusive du processus des traités au Canada, fondée sur l'apprentissage expérientiel et la création artistique conjointe.
  • Quand le Conseil canadien sur l'apprentissage a décerné à GénieArts un poste de chercheur en résidence, le programme a pu se structurer en tant que communauté d'étude et réaliser une recherche révolutionnaire sur l'engagement étudiant. Cela a des répercussions sur la gestion du savoir dans d'autres domaines, notamment l'apprentissage par le service communautaire.
  1. Art Starts in Schools (C.-B.); Calgary Arts Partners in Education Society; Community Foundation of Ottawa-Carleton; Newfoundland & Labrador Arts Council; Nova Scotia Arts Council; Portage and District Community Foundation (MAN); Saskatoon Foundation.
  2. Districts scolaires # 1 et #11, Nouveau-Brunswick; Fondation du Grand Québec; Riverside School Board, Montréal
  3. Voir une liste à jour à www.artssmarts.ca .
La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank