ALLIES

ALLIES

ALLIES (Assisting Local Leaders with Immigrant Employment Strategies) supports local efforts in Canadian cities to successfully adapt and implement programs that further the suitable employment of skilled immigrants. Through a series of multi-stakeholder initiatives, ALLIES and local partners contribute to building a stronger Canada by using the talents, connections and experience of skilled immigrants who have made Canada their new home. It is a joint program of the McConnell and Maytree Foundations, working with government, private and community sector partners.

Strategic Vision

Through ALLIES, the Foundation envisions a society in which new immigrants are better able to share their talent and creativity in a way that appropriately recognizes their professional experience. This would contribute both to their own well-being and, ultimately, a more prosperous and resilient Canada.

Granting Total

$3 million (with additional support from the Maytree Foundation, and private sector and government partners)

Program History

ALLIES launched in 2007 to support Canadian communities in making improvements to their integration of skilled immigrants into the local workforce. It builds on the success of the Toronto Region Immigrant Employment Council (TRIEC), which was formed by Maytree in 2003 as a multi-stakeholder council working to integrate skilled immigrants into the local economy.

TRIEC’s success caught the interest of other communities including the Waterloo Region and Ottawa, who created their own immigrant employment networks. In June 2007, Maytree, with support from The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation and Citizenship and Immigration Canada, hosted a “Learning Exchange” for communities interested in learning from these models. Approximately 150 participants from over 18 communities participated.

As a result of the Learning Exchange Conference, Assisting Local Leaders with Immigrant Employment Strategies or ALLIES was launched with the goal to help create a pan-Canadian movement of locally engaged communities to provide successful employment solutions for skilled immigrants.

ALLIES has since held two Learning Exchanges in Vancouver (June 2009) and Halifax (May 2010).

Key Lessons

  • Shared Challenges: Many previous projects concerning immigrant employment started from the premise that immigrants have deficits (in language, credentials, workplace culture, etc.). These “deficits” then needed to be remediated through programs such as training in language and culture, and upgrading credentials, an approach which had only limited success. We learned that both immigrants and employers have challenges. Employers sometimes perceive a high risk in hiring immigrants, are uncomfortable with difference, are weary of unfamiliar credentials, etc. As such, the job of remediation of deficits is one best shared between immigrants and employers.
  • Singular Focus:  During the early stages of the project, there was pressure to address many immigration issues and injustices. We learned that, in order to be successful, we had to focus on one issue: the attachment of immigrants to the labour market. While employers have an interest in programs to recruit and hire immigrants, it would be more difficult to engage employers if social justice, equity and racism issues were also being addressed.
  • Real Employers: Having the involvement of actual employers, rather than employer associations such as chambers of commerce or boards of trade, was essential. Companies, especially large employers, were necessary participants. Further, government was recognized to be first of all, a large employer, rather than a policy maker or funder.
  • Leaders: Community leaders, rather than organizations with similar mandates, were found to be more effective collaborators.
  • Concrete Projects: We learned that initiatives progressed much faster and effectively when concrete, actionable projects were introduced and implemented early.

Resources


Visit alliescanada.ca for more information

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

ALLIÉS

ALLIÉS

ALLIÉS (Aider les leaders locaux à créer des stratégies d’emploi pour les immigrants) appuie les efforts locaux dans les villes canadiennes en vue d’adapter et de mettre en œuvre avec succès des programmes qui aident les immigrants qualifiés à trouver des emplois cadrant avec leurs compétences. Au moyen d’un ensemble d’initiatives mobilisant de multiples parties prenantes, ALLIÉS et ses partenaires locaux contribuent à bâtir un Canada plus fort en mettant à profit les talents, les relations et l’expérience des immigrants qualifiés qui ont choisi de s’installer au Canada. C’est un programme commun de la fondation Maytree et de La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell, réalisé avec des partenaires des secteurs public, privé et communautaire.

Vision stratégique

Grâce à ALLIÉS, la fondation entrevoit une société dans laquelle les nouveaux immigrants seront plus en mesure de partager leur talent et leur créativité d’une manière qui reflète convenablement leur expérience professionnelle. Cela contribuerait à la fois à leur propre bien-être et, en fin de compte, à l’avènement d’un Canada plus prospère et plus résilient.

Financement total

3 000 000 $ (en plus du soutien de la fondation Maytree et des partenaires des secteurs privé et public)

Historique du programme

ALLIÉS a été lancé en 2007 pour aider les collectivités canadiennes à mieux intégrer les immigrants qualifiés à leur population active. Le programme prend appui sur la réussite du Toronto Region Immigrant Employment Council (TRIEC), créé par la fondation Maytree en 2003 comme organe à multiples parties prenantes consacré à l’intégration des immigrants qualifiés à l’économie locale.

Le succès de TRIEC a soulevé l’intérêt d’autres communautés, notamment de la région de Waterloo et d’Ottawa, qui ont créé leurs propres réseaux d’emploi pour les immigrants qualifiés. En juin 2007, Maytree, avec l’appui de La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell et de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, a organisé une conférence « Échange d’apprentissage » à l’intention des communautés intéressées à apprendre de ces modèles. Environ 150 participants de plus de 18 collectivités y ont participé.

Cette conférence a débouché sur le lancement de ALLIÉS, dont l’objectif est de contribuer à la création d’un mouvement pancanadien de communautés locales engagées, afin d’offrir des solutions d’emploi acceptables aux immigrants qualifiés.

Depuis, ALLIÉS a tenu deux autres conférences « Échange d’apprentissage » : à Vancouver (juin 2009) et à Halifax (mai 2010).

Leçons clés

  • Défis partagés. De nombreux projets concernant l’embauche d’immigrants se sont appuyés sur la prémisse que les immigrants ont des lacunes (langue, titres de compétences, culture du milieu de travail, etc.). Ces  « lacunes » devaient être comblées par des programmes tels des cours de langue et d’introduction à la culture ou d’amélioration des compétences. Cette approche a eu un succès limité. Nous avons appris qu’à la fois les immigrants et les employeurs ont des défis à relever. Parfois ces derniers perçoivent un risque élevé dans l’embauche d’immigrants, sont mal à l’aise face à la différence, se lassent de titres de compétences inconnus, entre autres. Il y a donc tout intérêt à partager entre les immigrants et les employeurs la responsabilité de combler les lacunes.
  • Cible unique. Pendant les premières étapes du projet, certains ont voulu s’attaquer aussi à de nombreux problèmes et injustices liés à l’immigration. Nous avons appris que, pour réussir, il nous fallait nous concentrer sur un seul objectif : intégrer les immigrants au marché du travail. Si les employeurs s’intéressent à des programmes de recrutement et d’embauche d’immigrants, il serait cependant plus difficile de les mobiliser en soulevant les questions de justice sociale, d’équité et de racisme.
  • Vrais employeurs. La participation de vrais employeurs plutôt que d’associations d’employeurs telles les chambres de commerce s’est révélée essentielle. Les entreprises, en particulier les gros employeurs, doivent nécessairement participer. De plus, le gouvernement a été reconnu comme étant d’abord et avant tout un gros employeur plutôt qu’un décideur ou un organisme subventionnaire.
  • Leaders. Les leaders communautaires se sont avérés des collaborateurs plus efficaces que des organismes ayant des mandats semblables.
  • Projets concrets. Nous avons découvert que les initiatives progressaient plus rapidement et plus efficacement quand des projets concrets étaient lancés et mis en œuvre sans tarder.

Ressources

Visitez alliescanada.ca pour plus d’information.

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank