Granting Philosophy

Our Granting Philosophy

Our Mission

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation engages Canadians in building a more innovative, inclusive, sustainable, and resilient society.

Our Purpose

The Foundation's purpose is to bolster Canada’s ability to address complex social, environmental and economic challenges. We accomplish this by developing, testing and applying innovative approaches and solutions; by strengthening the community sector; and by collaborating with partners in the community, private and public sectors. We recognize that creating enduring change takes time, and involves more than granting. In our areas of focus, we also carry out leadership development, support knowledge creation and dissemination, and more recently, make program-related investments.

National focus and community involvement

As a national funder in Canada, our focus is on projects and initiatives that extend to all regions of the country, or that address issues from a national perspective. In considering new proposals we ask: what impact will this have on communities across Canada?

Canada’s geographic reach and cultural diversity afford opportunities for learning from the application of new ideas in different settings. Therefore, we sometimes prototype new programs at multiple sites in order to shape a national initiative. Several of our initiatives support efforts to address issues like poverty or sustainability at the community level, while sharing lessons learned with other project sites across the country. We also support dissemination of locally generated solutions that have demonstrated potential to benefit communities elsewhere.

Partnership and Social Innovation

We often structure our work as "social innovation" – defined as the application of "new ideas that address pressing unmet needs." The Social Innovation Generation (SiG) partnership , which we co-founded in 2006, complements the Foundation’s capacity to address complex challenges with the skills and perspectives of leaders and institutions in the community, public, private and academic sectors. SiG’s outward focus is on creating greater capacity for social innovation in Canadian society.

Learn more:

How we Work

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Notre philosophie

Notre philosophie

Notre mission

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell engage les Canadiens à bâtir une société plus inclusive, plus viable, plus résiliente et plus novatrice.

Notre raison d’être

La raison d’être de la fondation est de renforcer la capacité du Canada de relever des défis complexes sur le plan social, économique et environnemental. Les moyens utilisés pour ce faire sont l’élaboration, le testage et l’application d’approches et de solutions novatrices; le renforcement du secteur communautaire; et la collaboration avec des partenaires de la communauté et des secteurs public et privé. Pour produire un changement durable, nous savons qu’il faut du temps et plus que de simples subventions. C’est pourquoi nous réalisons d’autres types d’activités dans nos secteurs d’intérêt : développement du leadership, soutien de la création et de la diffusion du savoir et, plus récemment, investissements liés à des programmes.

Perspective nationale et participation de la collectivité

À titre d’organisme subventionnaire national, nous nous consacrons à des projets et initiatives qui couvrent toutes les régions du Canada, ou qui abordent les enjeux dans une perspective nationale. Quand nous étudions une proposition, nous nous demandons toujours l’impact qu’elle pourra exercer dans les collectivités d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.

Par son étendue géographique et sa diversité culturelle, le Canada offre la possibilité de tirer des leçons de l’application de nouvelles idées dans différents contextes. Il nous arrive donc de lancer simultanément des projets pilote sur plusieurs sites dans le but d’élaborer un programme national. Plusieurs de nos programmes appuient le travail réalisé pour réduire la pauvreté ou favoriser la viabilité à l’échelle de la collectivité, tout en favorisant le partage des leçons entre divers sites de projet partout au Canada. Nous appuyons aussi la diffusion de solutions créées à l’échelle locale qui peuvent profiter à d’autres communautés ailleurs au pays.

Partenariat et innovation sociale

Nous structurons souvent notre travail autour de l’innovation sociale – soit l’application de nouvelles idées à des besoins pressants qui restent à combler. Le partenariat Génération de l’innovation sociale (SiG), créé conjointement en 2006, permet à la fondation d’aborder des enjeux complexes en s’alliant les compétences et points de vue de leaders et d’institutions de la collectivité et des secteurs public, privé et universitaire. SiG vise à renforcer la capacité d’innovation sociale dans la société canadienne.

Pour en savoir plus :

Notre façon de travailler

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank