Innovation

Innovation

Einstein famously said that you can’t find new answers by simply asking the old questions. Social innovation is the process of developing new approaches, perceptions or programs that meet social needs. Studies have shown that most innovation takes place “at the margins”, where people are struggling to find solutions to real problems.

Communities are centres of innovation, as entrepreneurial individuals and organizations deal with such intractable issues as homelessness, drugs, or early school leaving. Many potentially promising initiatives fail, however, for lack of recognition, testing, support and funding.

The Foundation’s interest in social innovation began by helping local initiatives develop their operations to reach more people and tackle broader issues, through a model we called “applied dissemination”. Working within complex, dynamic systems, it became clear that community organizations needed the skills to collaborate effectively with the business and public sectors. To move innovative ideas beyond the ‘pilot’ stage required long-term strategies, access to patient capital and an ability to engage with policymakers.

Together with a wide range of successful social entrepreneurs, the Foundation identified the need for a broader and more systematic effort to promote a culture of continuous social innovation in Canada which would embrace the public and private sectors, academe and community organizations.

In its initial phase, the Foundation made grants to a number of innovative individuals and organizations. These include:

  • including Roots of Empathy, JUMP, Santropol Roulant, PLAN Institute, the Framework Foundation, Fondation pour la promotion de la pédiatrie sociale and the Institute for Children Committing Offences, among others. Participants met in regular peer-learning sessions and a community of practice emerged. The use of the panarchy cycle offered a conceptual model to better understand the dynamics of social innovation.
  • In 2005, building on our experience with a range of social entrepreneurs developing new approaches to address entrenched social challenges the Foundation partnered with PLAN Institute for Caring Citizenship (Vancouver), the MaRS Discovery District (Toronto) and the University of Waterloo to launch Social Innovation Generation (SiG). SiG’s goal is to foster policies and practices that encourage, nurture and develop continuous innovation to make Canadian society more resilient, sustainable and creative. It represents the Foundation’s largest investment to date in efforts to seed a culture of Canadian social innovation.
The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Innovation

Innovation

Dans un mot célèbre, Einstein a dit qu’on ne trouve pas de réponses nouvelles si on pose seulement les anciennes questions. L’innovation sociale est le processus qui consiste à développer des approches, des perceptions et des programmes nouveaux afin de combler des besoins sociaux. Des études démontrent que l’innovation survient le plus souvent en marge, là où les gens se débattent pour résoudre des problèmes bien réels.

Les collectivités sont des centres d’innovation où des personnes et des organismes ayant l’esprit d’entreprise affrontent des problèmes aussi coriaces que l’itinérance, la drogue ou le décrochage scolaire. On voit malheureusement échouer la plupart des projets prometteurs, faute de reconnaissance, d’expérimentation, d’appui et de financement.

L’intérêt de la fondation pour l’innovation sociale se manifesta d’abord en aidant des projets locaux à étendre leurs activités pour toucher un plus vaste public et élargir leur champ d’action, par le truchement d’un modèle que nous appelons diffusion-application. À côtoyer ces systèmes complexes et dynamiques, il devint évident que les organismes communautaires avaient besoin de certaines compétences pour collaborer de manière efficace avec le secteur public et le milieu des affaires. Pour faire passer l’idée novatrice au stade de projet pilote, il faut des stratégies à long terme, du capital patient et la capacité de collaborer avec les décideurs.

Avec un vaste éventail d’entrepreneurs sociaux à succès, la fondation constata le besoin d’un travail plus vaste et plus systématique en vue de promouvoir au Canada une culture d’innovation sociale continue qui rassemble les secteurs public et privé, le monde universitaire et les organismes communautaires.

Au stade initial, la fondation accorda des subventions à des personnes et organismes novateurs – Racines de l’empathie, JUMP, Santropol Roulant, PLAN, Framework Foundation, Fondation pour la promotion de la pédiatrie sociale et Centre for Children Committing Offences, entre autres. Une série de séances d’apprentissage entre pairs qui rassemblait les participants sur une base régulière fit émerger une communauté de pratique. Le cycle de panarchie fournit un modèle conceptuel qui permit de mieux saisir la dynamique de l’innovation sociale.

Misant sur son expérience avec un éventail d’entrepreneurs sociaux qui développent de nouvelles approches pour contrer des problèmes sociaux profondément enracinés, et en partenariat avec le PLAN Institute for Caring Citizenship (Vancouver), MaRS Discovery District (Toronto) et l’Université de Waterloo, la fondation mit sur pied Génération de l’innovation sociale (GIS) en 2005. GIS vise à favoriser les politiques et pratiques qui stimulent, nourrissent et développent l’innovation continue pour faire du Canada une société plus résiliente, plus viable et plus créatrice. C’est l’investissement le plus substantiel jamais fait par la fondation dans le but de jeter les bases d’une culture canadienne de l’innovation sociale.

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank